Covered: A Revolution in Sound: Warner Bros. Records [12 Tracks]

Covered: A Revolution in Sound: Warner Bros. Records [12 Tracks]


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, April 20


Part of Warner Brothers' ongoing celebration of their 50th Anniversary, Covered: A Revolution in Sound has current Warner recording artists covering songs from classic Warner recordings artists -- i.e., following the rubric set by Rubaiyat, the 1990 compilation that had current Elektra artists covering classic Elektra artists. Elektra was always a weirder label, always reflecting its independence, while Warner always was a bigger label -- the quirkiest and strangest of the majors, particularly during their glory days of the '60s and '70s, but still a major label with no overruling identity, a situation that is especially true in 2009, where the Warner-affiliated labels boast a roster heavy with active rock bands and anonymous singer/songwriters. Both camps are represented here on Covered, but the producers have gone out of their way to showcase Warner's more interesting acts, some of which actually do some interesting work: the Black Keys twist Captain Beefheart into their own image, not necessarily an easy thing to do, the Flaming Lips turn Madonna's "Borderline" inside out, while Mastodon come close to giving ZZ Top's "Just Got Paid" a clenched revamp, perhaps ratcheting up the grind just a notch too tight. While Misty Higgins does her best to strip the sensuality away from Roxy Music's "More Than This," turning it into a breathy triple-A ballad that makes 10,000 Maniacs' version seem muscular, and the Used turn Talking Heads' into a garish car wreck, the rest of Covered finds artists treating the originals as sacred texts. In the case of Avenged Sevenfold's "Paranoid" and Disturbed's "Midlife Crisis," the fidelity is embarrassing; in the case of Michelle Branch's "A Case of You," it's just bland. James Otto fares a bit better with "Into the Mystic," giving it a little bit of heartland soul, but Against Me! should have known better than to replicate the Replacements' one-take wonder "Here Comes a Regular." And that just leaves the most bewildering track here, Adam Sandler's mimicking of Neil Young's "Like a Hurricane." Sandler plays it straight, never cracking a joke, and it's not just unintentionally funny, it's just fascinatingly odd -- and in that oddness, it has a leg up on much of the rest of Covered.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/07/2009
Label: Warner Records
UPC: 0093624983460
catalogNumber: 512896
Rank: 112376


  1. Just Got Paid
  2. Her Eyes Are a Blue Million Miles
  3. A Case of You
  4. Here Comes a Regular
  5. More Than This
  6. Into the Mystic
  7. Like a Hurricane
  8. You Wreck Me
  9. Burning Down the House
  10. Midlife Crisis
  11. Paranoid
  12. Borderline

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Kenny Aronoff   Drums
Billy Gibbons   Guitar
Guillermo Guzman   Bass
Betsy Hammer   Background Vocals
Don Heffington   Drums
Greg Leisz   Dulcimer,Acoustic Guitar,Guitar (Tenor)
Patrick Warren   Keyboards
Adam Sandler   Guitar,Vocals
Waddy Wachtel   Guitar,Background Vocals
John Shanks   Guitar
Mike Elizondo   Bass
Rupert Gregson-Williams   Keyboards
James Dewees   Keyboards

Technical Credits

Faith No More   Composer
Bryan Ferry   Composer
Joni Mitchell   Composer
Tom Petty   Composer
Replacements   Composer
Talking Heads   Composer
Neil Young   Composer
ZZ Top   Composer
Brooks Arthur   Producer
Reggie Lucas   Composer
Paul Westerberg   Composer
Frank Beard   Composer
Captain Beefheart   Composer
Roddy Bottum   Composer
Geezer Butler   Composer
Nick DiDia   Engineer
Dave Fridmann   Producer
Billy Gibbons   Composer
Bill Gould   Composer
Bill Ham   Composer
Van Morrison   Composer
Roxy Music   Composer
Brendan O'Brien   Producer
Terpain Richmond   Producer
Bob Stark   Engineer
Don Van Vliet   Composer
Butch Vig   Executive Producer
Paul Worley   Producer
Adam Sandler   Producer
Waddy Wachtel   Arranger
Billy Bowers   Engineer
Trina Shoemaker   Engineer
Tom Whalley   Executive Producer
Bill Ward   Composer
Lars Fox   Engineer
John Shanks   Producer
Trent Bell   Engineer
George Fullan   Producer,Engineer
Billy Bush   Producer,Engineer
Matt Squire   Producer,Engineer
David Draiman   Producer
Dan Donegan   Producer
Mike Wengren   Producer
Jeff Rothschild   Engineer
Ryan Corey   Art Direction
Alex Todorov   Engineer
Missy Higgins   Producer
Diarmuid Quinn   Producer
Rachel Howard   Producer
Andrew Bazinet   Engineer
David Paul Campbell   String Arrangements
Ben Edgar   Producer
Dave Symes   Producer

Customer Reviews