Country Music: A Film by Ken Burns [Original Soundtrack]

Country Music: A Film by Ken Burns [Original Soundtrack]

Vinyl LP(Long Playing Record)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


COUNTRY MUSIC – A Film By Ken Burns (The Soundtrack) showcases essential recordings, drawn from the nearly 600 music cues used in the documentary, covering the wide historic terrain of 20th century American country music. A tree with deep roots and ever-expanding branches, American country music evolved from songs passed down from generations of settlers and slaves until 20th century recording technology made it possible for hundreds and thousands (if not millions) of listeners to share the same musical experience on a record.

COUNTRY MUSIC journeys from early Appalachian “hillbilly” recordings through “singing cowboys” and bluegrass, Texas swing and Tennessee rockabilly and more, all the while paying attention to the impact of radio, Hollywood and television on the evolution of American country sounds and attitudes.

COUNTRY MUSIC is the culmination of eight years of research and production, including interviews with more than 100 people (40 of whom are members of the Country Music Hall of Fame, and 20 of those interviewed have since passed on). Among those storytellers are historian Bill Malone and a wide range of country artists such as Marty Stuart, Rosanne Cash, Vince Gill, Reba McEntire, Merle Haggard, Dolly Parton, Willie Nelson, Dwight Yoakam, Emmylou Harris, Kris Kristofferson, and Naomi and Wynonna Judd, as well as studio musicians, record producers and others. The film uses more than 3,200 photographs and over two hours of archival footage, including rare and never-before-seen photos and footage of Jimmie Rodgers, Johnny Cash and others.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/13/2019
Label: Sony Legacy
UPC: 0190759604311
catalogNumber: 596043
Rank: 5140


Disc 1

  1. Can the Circle Be Unbroken
  2. Blue Yodel No. 8 (Mule Skinner Blues)
  3. Fox Chase
  4. New San Antonio Rose
  5. Wabash Cannonball
  6. It's Mighty Dark to Travel
  7. Foggy Mountain Breakdown (Single Version)
  8. It Wasn't God Who Made Honky Tonk Angels
  9. I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry (Single Version)
  10. Crazy Arms
  11. Ring of Fire
  12. Crazy
  13. Coal Miner's Daughter
  14. Kiss an Angel Good Mornin'
  15. Hungry Eyes
  16. Stand by Your Man

Disc 2

  1. You Ain't Goin' Nowhere
  2. Me and Bobby McGee
  3. Girl from the North Country
  4. Are You Sure Hank Done It This Way
  5. Jolene
  6. Boulder to Birmingham
  7. Whiskey River (Live)
  8. Pancho and Lefty
  9. He Stopped Loving Her Today
  10. Streets of Bakersfield
  11. Where've You Been
  12. Go Rest High on That Mountain
  13. I Still Miss Someone (Live)

Customer Reviews