Controlled Nonchalance at the Regattabar, Vol. 2

Controlled Nonchalance at the Regattabar, Vol. 2

by Ruby Braff


$10.44 $10.99 Save 5% Current price is $10.44, Original price is $10.99. You Save 5%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, January 30
2 New & Used Starting at $9.03


Although cornet player Ruby Braff passed away in 2002, Arbors has continued to honor his legacy by releasing previously unavailable material. As a result, Braff's oeuvre continues to grow along with his reputation as a central figure in revival jazz. Controlled Nonchalance at the Regattabar, Vol. 2, recorded on November 26 and 27, 1993, may be an odd title for an album, but the music is fabulous. Braff is joined by tenor Scott Hamilton, pianist Dave McKenna, guitarist Gray Sargent, bassist Marshall Woods, and drummer Chuck Riggs for a 70-minute set featuring mostly familiar standards. As one might guess from glancing at the lengths of these pieces, there's a lot of room for spontaneous soloing on extended versions of "It's All Right with Me" and "Pennies from Heaven." These performers exceed in their ability to play as a band, and the instrumental mix, with heavy horns balanced by lighter piano and guitar, works well. Braff and friends offer a treat for Ellington fans with a relaxed 12-minute medley featuring "In a Sentimental Mood" and "I Got It Bad and That Ain't Good." Overall, the set is fairly mellow, which makes the upbeat wildness of "Swinging on a Star" and "Them There Eyes" stand out even more. For classic jazz fans, Controlled Nonchalance is a lovely disc that will be much appreciated.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/13/2005
Label: Arbors Records
UPC: 0780941131123
catalogNumber: 19311
Rank: 90142

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Ruby Braff   Primary Artist,Cornet
Scott Hamilton   Tenor Saxophone
Dave McKenna   Piano
Chuck Riggs   Drums
Gray Sargent   Guitar
Marshall Wood   Bass,Bass Guitar

Technical Credits

Fats Waller   Composer
Irving Mills   Composer
Jimmy McHugh   Composer
Andy Razaf   Composer
Duke Ellington   Composer
Dorothy Fields   Composer
Peter Kontrimas   Engineer
Manny Kurtz   Composer
Johnny Mercer   Composer
Dan Morgenstern   Liner Notes
Cole Porter   Composer
James Van Heusen   Composer
Paul Francis Webster   Composer
Marshall Wood   Engineer
Matty Malneck   Composer
Jack Bradley   Cover Photo
Harry Brooks   Composer
Arthur Johnston   Composer
Mat Domber   Producer,Audio Production
Rachel Domber   Producer
Maceo Pinkard   Composer
Harry Link   Composer
Eric Maschwitz   Composer
Doris Tauber   Composer
William Tracey   Composer
Vic DeRobertis   Cover Design
Rachel   Audio Production

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews