by Philip BaileyPhilip Bailey


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Expatriate Earth, Wind & Fire vocalist Philip Bailey stepped out on his own with Continuation, his first solo recording. Here Bailey got to explore some less-cluttered grooves than in EWF, and he also sang in his natural tenor rather than being limited to his falsetto. "I Know" received some air and club play, but for the most part the disc was ignored. That's too bad, because several of the songs are engaging R&B. "Vaya (Go With Love)" is the best ballad (Bailey's supposed strength with Earth, Wind & Fire), but the concluding "The Good Guy's Supposed to Get the Girl" and "Your Boyfriend's Back" are the best matches of hook-filled melody and Bailey's soaring voice.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/18/2010
Label: Funkytown Grooves
UPC: 0886976608125
catalogNumber: 12805743
Rank: 64735

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Philip Bailey   Primary Artist,Percussion,Vocals,Background Vocals,Linn Drum
Deniece Williams   Vocals
George Duke   Piano,Marimbas,Background Vocals,fender rhodes,Soloist,Linn Drum,Moog Bass,Prophet 5
Roland Bautista   Guitar,Soloist
Winston Ford   Background Vocals
Michael Sembello   Guitar
Rev. Dave Boruff   Alto Saxophone,Soloist
Robert Brookins   fender rhodes,Linn Drum,Mini Moog
Carl Carwell   Background Vocals
Paulinho Da Costa   Percussion
Lynn Davis   Background Vocals
Nathan East   Bass
James Gadson   Drums
Gary Grant   Trumpet
Jerry Hey   Trumpet
Paul Jackson   Guitar
Ricky Lawson   Drums
Lew McCreary   Trombone
Debbie Sledge   Background Vocals
Joni Sledge   Background Vocals
Kathy Sledge   Background Vocals
Kim Sledge   Background Vocals
Fred Washington   Bass
Julius Carey   Background Vocals
Larry Williams   Tenor Saxophone
Irvin Kramer   Guitar
David Wolinski   fender rhodes,Jupiter 8,Linn Drum
Jeffrey Osbourne   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Philip Bailey   Composer
Donald Cleveland   Reissue Producer
George Del Barrio   String Conductor
N. O'Byrne   Composer
David Wolinski   Composer
G. Glenn   Composer
Tony Calvert   Reissue Producer
Goerge Littlejohn   Liner Notes
Neiman Tillar   Sound Effects

Customer Reviews