The Concert in Hyde Park

The Concert in Hyde Park

by Paul Simon

CD(Bonus DVD)

$25.76 $29.99 Save 14% Current price is $25.76, Original price is $29.99. You Save 14%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, January 28
4 New & Used Starting at $19.10


Legacy's 2017 double-CD/single-DVD/single-Blu-ray set The Concert in Hyde Park captures a celebratory concert Paul Simon gave in London's Hyde Park on July 15, 2012. For that show, he reconvened many of the musicians who played on 1986's Graceland, including Ladysmith Black Mambazo and Hugh Masekela, and invited Jimmy Cliff to play an extended mini-set early in the show, while bringing Jerry Douglas on-stage to play on "The Boxer" near the close. Simon runs through almost all of Graceland but not in order ("All Around the World or the Myth of Fingerprints" is MIA). He punctuates the album with lively versions of his classic hits -- mainly from his solo career, although "The Sound of Silence" is here -- but the focus remains on the elasticity of Graceland, since this band plays lively, somewhat unpredictable arrangements of these familiar numbers. More than the Graceland material itself, these versions show how the album continues to inspire Simon, pushing him to try new things even on old tunes.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/09/2017
Label: Sony Legacy
UPC: 0889854048228
catalogNumber: 540482
Rank: 17777


Disc 1

  1. Kodachrome
  2. Gone at Last
  3. Dazzling Blue
  4. 50 Ways to Leave Your Lover
  5. Vietnam
  6. Mother and Child Reunion
  7. That Was Your Mother
  8. Hearts and Bones/Mystery Train/Wheels
  9. Me and Julio Down by the Schoolyard
  10. Slip Slidin' Away
  11. The Obvious Child

Disc 2

  1. Introduction
  2. Homeless
  3. Paul Introduces Graceland Band
  4. Diamonds on the Soles of Her Shoes
  5. I Know What I Know
  6. The Boy in the Bubble
  7. Crazy Love, Vol. 2
  8. Gumboots
  9. Under African Skies
  10. Graceland
  11. You Can Call Me Al
  12. The Sound of Silence
  13. The Boxer
  14. Late in the Evening
  15. Paul Introduces Band & Thank You
  16. Still Crazy After All These Years

Disc 3

  1. Many Rivers to Cross
  2. Applause Out/Credits
  3. The Sound of Silence
  4. You Can Call Me Al
  5. Graceland
  6. Gumboots
  7. Crazy Love, Vol. 2
  8. I Know What I Know
  9. Diamonds on the Soles of Her Shoes
  10. Still Crazy After All These Years
  11. Homeless
  12. Late in the Evening
  13. The Boxer
  14. The Obvious Child
  15. Slip Slidin' Away
  16. Me and Julio Down by the Schoolyard
  17. Hearts and Bones/Mystery Train/Wheels
  18. That Was Your Mother
  19. Vietnam & Mother and Child Reunion
  20. The Harder They Come
  21. 50 Ways to Leave Your Lover
  22. Dazzling Blue
  23. Kodachrome & Gone At Last
  24. Under African Skies
  25. The Boy in the Bubble
  26. Kodachrome & Gone At Last
  27. Dazzling Blue
  28. 50 Ways to Leave Your Lover
  29. The Harder They Come
  30. Many Rivers to Cross
  31. Vietnam & Mother and Child Reunion
  32. That Was Your Mother
  33. Hearts and Bones/Mystery Train/Wheels
  34. Me and Julio Down By The Schoolyard
  35. Slip Slidin' Away
  36. The Obvious Child
  37. Homeless
  38. Diamonds on the Soles of Her Shoes
  39. I Know What I Know
  40. The Boy in the Bubble
  41. Crazy Love, Vol. 2
  42. Gumboots
  43. Under African Skies
  44. Graceland
  45. You Can Call Me Al
  46. The Sound of Silence
  47. The Boxer
  48. Late in the Evening
  49. Still Crazy After All These Years
  50. Applause Out/Credits

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Paul Simon   Primary Artist,Guitar,Vocals
Barney Rachabane   Alto Saxophone,Penny Whistle
Tony Cedras   Percussion,Trumpet,Accordion,Keyboards,Background Vocals
Jamey Haddad   Percussion
Sonti Mndebele   Background Vocals
Isaac Mtshali   Drums
Vincent Nguini   Guitar,Background Vocals
Ray Phiri   Guitar,Background Vocals
John Selolwane   Guitar,Background Vocals
Andy Snitzer   Percussion,Tenor Saxophone,Background Vocals,Vibes
Bakithi Kumalo   Bass,Percussion
Mick Rossi   Organ,Percussion,Piano,Keyboards,Pump Organ
Mark Stewart   Guitar,Baritone Saxophone,Background Vocals,Harmonic Bass
Jim Oblon   Guitar,Drums,Background Vocals
Bongi Mabaso   Background Vocals
Sweety Mhlanga   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Jimmy Cliff   Composer
Paul Simon   Composer
Norman Petty   Composer
Sam Phillips   Composer
Joseph Shabalala   Composer
Lulu Masilela   Composer
Jonhjon Mkhalali   Composer
Forere Motloheloa   Composer
Jimmy Torres   Composer
Paul King   Producer
Richard Stephens   Composer
Steve Berkowitz   Producer,Audio Production
John Jackson   Executive Producer
Matthew Amos   Director
Jeffrey Schulberg   Executive Producer
Jeff Schulz   Art Direction
Herman Parker   Composer
Jeff Kramer   Executive Producer
General M. D. Shirinda   Composer
James Chambers   Composer
Mike Kauffman   Executive Producer
Richard Alcock   Executive Producer
Jennifer Lebeau   Producer,Video Producer
Adam Dunaway   Video Director
Ray Lyttleton   Engineer
Teddy Thrasher   Drum Technician
Kelly Macauley   Guitar Techician

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews