Complete World Transcripts

Complete World Transcripts

by Helen Forrest


3 New & Used Starting at $4.99


Years after her affiliations with Artie Shaw, Benny Goodman, and Harry James, Helen Forrest recorded these transcriptions with the Carmen Dragon string orchestra. Although Forrest was only in her early thirties when these covers of popular pop and jazz tunes were made in 1949-1950, she was past her commercial prime (but at the peak of her vocal abilities). These economical arrangements emphasize Forrest's vocals much more than many of her earlier recordings with big bands, which is wonderful for fans interested in the singer more than the band. Forrest sounds great as always, and The Complete World Transcriptions, a two-CD set with all 50 of her recordings for the transcription service, is both a complete package for collectors and an enjoyable collection of standards sung by one of the greatest vocalists of the swing era.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/16/1999
Label: Soundies Records
UPC: 0673477411428
catalogNumber: 4114


Disc 1

  1. All Wrapped in Pink...
  2. Little White Lies
  3. Embraceable You
  4. I'll Always Be in Love With You
  5. What Can I Say After I Say I'm Sorry
  6. Say It Isn't So
  7. I Can't Give You Anything But Love
  8. I'm Confessin' (That I Love You)
  9. Can't Help Lovin' Dat Man
  10. How Come You Do Me Like You Do?
  11. Mad About the Boy
  12. Everything I Have Is Yours
  13. I Can't Believe That You're in Love With Me
  14. I Keep Telling My Heart
  15. "On the Torchy Side..."
  16. Under a Blanket of Blue
  17. That's My Desire
  18. I Hadn't Anyone Till You
  19. My Reverie
  20. Mean to Me
  21. Someone to Watch over Me
  22. I'm in the Mood for Love
  23. What's the Use of Wond'rin'
  24. They Say It's Wonderful
  25. My Man
  26. How High the Moon
  27. Too Marvelous for Words

Disc 2

  1. "Musical Notions Counter..."
  2. On the Sunny Side of the Street
  3. East of the Sun (And West of the Moon)
  4. I Gotta Right to Sing the Blues
  5. I'll Get By (As Long as I Have You)
  6. The One I Love (Belongs to Somebody Else)
  7. I Don't Stand a Ghost of a Chance With You
  8. How Deep Is the Ocean?
  9. Bill
  10. Bewitched, Bothered and Bewildered
  11. My Ideal
  12. I've Got a Crush on You
  13. Stormy Weather
  14. My Heart Belongs to Daddy
  15. A Real Gone Case on Love...
  16. Baby Won't You Please Come Home
  17. Dancing on the Ceiling
  18. I Only Have Eyes for You
  19. Paradise
  20. Come Rain or Come Shine
  21. Ain't Misbehavin'
  22. I May Be Wrong
  23. I Wanna Be Loved
  24. I Can't Get Started
  25. You Go to My Head
  26. Deep Purple
  27. Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Helen Forrest   Primary Artist

Technical Credits

George Gershwin   Composer
Fats Waller   Composer
Andy Razaf   Composer
Jerome Kern   Composer
Nacio Herb Brown   Composer
Ira Gershwin   Composer
Oscar Hammerstein   Composer
Nancy Hamilton   Composer
Burton Lane   Composer
Jerry Livingston   Composer
J. Neiburg   Composer
Leo Robin   Composer
Marty Symes   Composer
P.G. Wodehouse   Composer
Scott Yanow   Liner Notes
Harry Brooks   Composer
Harold Adamson   Composer
Richard A. Whiting   Composer
Gordon Clifford   Composer
Morgan Lewis   Composer
Newell Chase   Composer
Jellystone   Reissue Producer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews