Complete Recorded Works, Vol. 4: New York Chicago Hollywood

Complete Recorded Works, Vol. 4: New York Chicago Hollywood

by Fats WallerFats Waller


$28.92 $28.99 Save 0% Current price is $28.92, Original price is $28.99. You Save 0%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, April 20


Vol. 4 in JSP's thorough and affordable series of four-CD sets devoted to the complete works of Fats Waller contains all of his studio recordings made in New York, Chicago, and Hollywood between September 9, 1936, and April 12, 1938. This segment of Waller's astonishingly prolific career found him leading so many inspired and artistically rewarding sessions that Vol. 4 is recommended as heartily as was the previous installation. There are 102 tracks in total, including eight alternate takes sewn onto the end of the fourth disc along with a rare alternate realization of "Big Business, Pts. 1-2," an original cast recording from the revue Hot Chocolates that features a theater ensemble led by comedians Billy Higgins and Eddie Green with bluesy instrumental accompaniments by pianist Thomas Waller. This classic if Jim Crow-infused example of early-20th century Negro vaudeville provides crucial context for the showbiz environment within which Waller developed his skills and ultimately prevailed as one of the nation's most popular entertainers. During the year 1937 Fats Waller & His Rhythm recorded some of their all-time greatest instrumentals, including "Boo Hoo," "Blue Turning Grey Over You," and the famous four-minute version of "Honeysuckle Rose." Eight of the vocal tracks from this period are followed by instrumental flip sides that allow for more solos and creative interaction between the players. This formula worked especially well on the bluesy "San Anton'" and the ebullient "Swingin' Them Jingle Bells." In addition to nine examples of what he sounded like at the helm of a 13-piece big band (Disc D tracks seven through 15), Waller is mostly heard with his core Rhythm band (trumpeter Herman Autrey, reedman Eugene Sedric, guitarist Albert Casey, bassist Charles Turner or Cedric Wallace, and drummer Wilmore Slick Jones). He also performs as a solo pianist (Disc B tracks 23-26); in a jam session at Victor with trumpeter Bunny Berigan, trombonist Tommy Dorsey, guitarist Dick McDonough, and drummer George Wettling (Disc B tracks 5 and 6); and with a short-lived West Coast version of his Rhythm, whose recordings are most memorable for the steel guitar work of Ceele Burke (Disc C tracks 16-23). This group's renderings of "Georgia on my Mind" and "On the Sunny Side of the Street" were non-commercial audition recordings for warm-voiced singer Peggy Dade, and would not become available to the public until decades later during the first truly comprehensive posthumous Fats Waller LP reissue projects.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/19/2008
Label: Jsp Records
UPC: 0788065904821
catalogNumber: 948
Rank: 104713


Disc 1

  1. S'posin'
  2. Copper Colored Gal
  3. I'm at the Mercy of Love
  4. Floatin' Down to Cotton Town
  5. La-De-De, La-De-Da
  6. Hallelujah! Things Look Rosy Now
  7. Hallelujah! Things Look Rosy Now
  8. 'Tain't Good (Like a Nickel Made of Wood)
  9. 'Tain't Good (Like a Nickel Made of Wood)
  10. Swingin' Them Jingle Bells
  11. Swingin' Them Jingle Bells
  12. A Thousand Dreams of You
  13. A Thousand Dreams of You
  14. A Rhyme for Love
  15. I Adore You
  16. Havin' a Ball
  17. I'm Sorry I Made You Cry
  18. Who's Afraid of Love?
  19. Please Keep Me in Your Dreams
  20. One in a Million
  21. Nero
  22. You're Laughing at Me
  23. I Can't Break the Habit of You
  24. Did Anyone Ever Tell You?
  25. When Love Is Young
  26. The Meanest Thing You Ever Did Was Kiss Me
  27. Cryin' Mood
  28. Where Is the Sun?

Disc 2

  1. You've Been Reading My Mail
  2. To a Sweet Pretty Thing
  3. Old Plantation
  4. Spring Cleaning
  5. Honeysuckle Rose
  6. Blues
  7. You Showed Me the Way
  8. You Showed Me the Way
  9. Boo-Hoo
  10. The Love Bug Will Bite You
  11. San Anton'
  12. San Anton'
  13. I've Got a New Lease on Love
  14. I've Got a New Lease on Love
  15. Sweet Heartache
  16. Sweet Heartache
  17. Honeysuckle Rose
  18. (You Know It All) Smarty
  19. Don't You Know or Don't You Care?
  20. Lost Love
  21. I'm Gonna Put You in Your Place
  22. Blue Turning Grey Over You
  23. Keepin' out of Mischief Now
  24. Stardust
  25. Basin Street Blues
  26. Tea for Two

Disc 3

  1. I Ain't Got Nobody
  2. You've Got Me Under Your Thumb
  3. Beat It Out
  4. Our Love Was Meant to Be
  5. I'd Rather Call You Baby
  6. I'm Always in the Mood for You
  7. She's Tall, She's Tan, She's Terrific
  8. You're My Dish
  9. More Power to You
  10. How Can I?
  11. The Joint Is Jumpin'
  12. A Hopeless Love Affair
  13. What Will I Do in the Morning?
  14. How Ya Baby?
  15. Jealous of Me
  16. On the Sunny Side of the Street
  17. Georgia
  18. Every Day's a Holiday
  19. Neglected
  20. My Window Faces the South
  21. Am I in Another World?
  22. Why Do Hawaiians Sing Aloha?
  23. My First Impression of You

Disc 4

  1. Something Tells Me
  2. I Love to Whistle
  3. You Went to My Head
  4. Florida Flo
  5. Lost and Found
  6. Don't Try to Cry Your Way Back to Me
  7. Marie
  8. In the Gloaming
  9. You Had an Evening to Spare
  10. Let's Break the Good News
  11. 'Skrontch'
  12. I Simply Adore You
  13. The Sheik of Araby
  14. Hold My Hand
  15. Inside (This Heart of Mine)
  16. Big Business, Pt. 1
  17. Big Business, Pt. 2
  18. Did Anyone Ever Tell You?
  19. More Power to You
  20. Every Day's a Holiday
  21. In the Gloaming
  22. I Simply Adore You
  23. The Sheik of Araby
  24. Hold My Hand
  25. Inside (This Heart of Mine)

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Fats Waller   Primary Artist,Piano,Celeste,Vocals
Bunny Berigan   Trumpet
George Wettling   Drums
Herman Autrey   Trumpet
Ceele Burke   Guitar
Paul Campbell   Trumpet
Tommy Dorsey   Trombone
John Haughton   Trombone
Wilmore Slick Jones   Drums,Vibes
Caughey Roberts   Clarinet,Alto Saxophone
George Robinson   Trombone
Fred Skerritt   Alto Saxophone
Charles Turner   String Bass
Dick McDonough   Guitar
William Alsop   Alto Saxophone
Nathaniel Williams   Trumpet
John "Bugs" Hamilton   Trumpet
Eugene Sedric   Clarinet,Alto Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Albert Casey   Guitar
Lee Young   Drums

Technical Credits

Drew Kent   Sleeve Notes

Customer Reviews