by Larry CarltonLarry Carlton


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, March 5
21 New & Used Starting at $1.99


The first volume of GRP's Larry Carlton Collection takes the listener from the beginning of his solo career up to 1990. Starting off with one cut from his first Warner Bros. album, Larry Carlton, the collection goes on to include two tracks each from Sleepwalk and Friends, two each from the acoustic guitar albums Alone/But Never Alone and Discovery, and one from On Solid Ground. In addition, the CD throws in two then-new tracks, "Small Town Girl" and "For Heaven's Sake" -- pleasant melodic pieces with acoustic guitar lead, nothing extraordinary. Along the way, you'll hear some very catchy tunes long identified with Carlton ("Smiles and Smiles to Go," "High Steppin'," and "Minute by Minute"), a mellower rendition of "Nite Crawler" than the version he recorded as a Crusader, and the relaxed, funky "Bubble Shuffle." For some changes of pace, there is an affectionate tribute to the surf sounds from near his hometown of Torrance ("Sleepwalk"), and one harder-edged number, "Blues for TJ," that finds Carlton crossing swords with B.B. King virtually as an equal. Mostly, though, this is ingratiating smooth jazz that very often transcends the conventions of the idiom.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/25/1990
Label: Grp Records
UPC: 0011105961127
catalogNumber: 9611
Rank: 44383

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Larry Carlton   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Keyboards,Vocals
Brian Mann   Organ,Synthesizer
Jarreau   Vocals
Michael McDonald   Keyboards
Michael Brecker   Saxophone
Greg Mathieson   Keyboards
Joe Sample   Piano,Keyboards,fender rhodes
Michele Pillar   Vocals
Paulinho Da Costa   Percussion
John Ferraro   Drums
Michael Fischer   Percussion
Michael Fisher   Percussion
Don Freeman   Piano,Clavinet,fender rhodes
Gary Grant   Horn
Jerry Hey   Horn
B.B. King   Guitar
Abraham Laboriel   Bass
Rick Marotta   Drums
David Pack   Vocals
Jeff Porcaro   Drums
Dean Parks   Rhythm Guitar
Alan Pasqua   Keyboards
Joe Pena   Bass
John Pena   Bass
Eric Pershing   Synthesizer,Keyboards
John "J.R." Robinson   Drums
Dave Rouze   Drums
Terry Trotter   Synthesizer,Piano,Keyboards,fender rhodes,DX-7
Kirk Whalum   Horn,Saxophone
William Frank "Bill" Reichenbach   Horn
Larry Williams   Woodwind
Robert "Pops" Popwell   Bass

Technical Credits

Larry Carlton   Arranger,Producer,Engineer,Remixing
Karen Andrew   Producer
Don Ferrman   Arranger
Don Freeman   Arranger
Jerry Hey   Arranger,Horn Arrangements
Alan Pasqua   Programming
Rik Pekkonen   Engineer,Remixing
Eric Pershing   Programming,Contributor
Dave Rouze   Programming,drum programming
Suzanne Sherman   Producer
Allen Sides   Engineer,Remixing
Michael Verdick   Engineer,Remixing
Kathleen Covert   Art Direction
George Varga   Liner Notes
George Varhas   Liner Notes
Michael Verkick   Remixing

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Collection 3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago