Cold Blow These Winter Winds

Cold Blow These Winter Winds


$14.56 $16.99 Save 14% Current price is $14.56, Original price is $16.99. You Save 14%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, February 3
1 New & Used Starting at $14.49


Finally, a Christmas album for folk fans who hate Christmas albums. Recorded live in Edinburgh in December 2003, at a charity concert, this brings together the cream of the young Scotland-based folk crop on a mix of traditional and contemporary material. Starting out with a selection of tunes on piano and whistle, then a luminous version of the traditional "Lullay Lullay," the fun really begins with a cover of "Fairytale of New York," which also incorporates a pair of tunes. It might be quite the usual Christmas spirit, but it remains a fabulous song. There are few frills to the arrangements; instead they let the songs and tunes speak for themselves, as on "Bulalow," which works perfectly with just voice, bass, and whistle, and in fact gains more impact from its sparseness. Inevitably, it's the better-known material that hits home, likes a lovely, soaring version of "Little Drummer Boy" that dispenses with most of the vocals to allow border pipes to take the lead, or "Christ Child's Lullaby," which is handled with a gorgeous delicacy, mixing harps and Galician gaita (a type of bagpipe) behind the vocals. Rory McLeod does a great version of John Prine's "Christmas in Prison," while "Blue Christmas" is turned upside down by fiddle and harp, with Tim Matthew's vocal pushing the Elvis version out to nowhere. "Silent Night," with massed voices, raises shivers, and "It's Christmas Time," with a children's vocal from Billie Owens, makes for a charming close, kitsch, but still enough to raise a smile.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/26/2004
Label: Green Linnet
UPC: 0048248122924
catalogNumber: 481229
Rank: 195037

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Mary MacMaster   Harp,Vocals
Dave Milligan   Piano
Eliza Carthy   Fiddle,Vocals
Rory McLeod   Guitar,Vocals
Aaron Jones   Bouzouki
Rory Campbell   Vocals,Human Whistle,Border Pipes
Kevin McGuire   Bass
Dean Owens   Guitar,Vocals
Corrina Hewat   Harp,Vocals
Karine Polwart   Guitar,Vocals
Andy Lang   Guitar,Vocals
Tim Matthew   Fiddle,Vocals

Technical Credits

John Prine   Composer
Gordon Duncan   Composer
Katherine K. Davis   Composer
Henry Onorati   Composer
Harry Simone   Composer
Rory Campbell   Producer,Liner Notes
Dean Owens   Composer
Jay Johnson   Composer
Traditional   Composer
Andy Lang   Composer
Bill Hayes   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews