Code Name: Lise: The True Story of the Woman Who Became WWII's Most Highly Decorated Spy

Code Name: Lise: The True Story of the Woman Who Became WWII's Most Highly Decorated Spy

by Larry Loftis

Audiobook(CD - Unabridged)

$28.62 $39.99 Save 28% Current price is $28.62, Original price is $39.99. You Save 28%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, June 19

Overview

From internationally bestselling author of the “gripping” (Michael Connelly, #1 New York Times bestselling author) Into the Lion’s Mouth comes the extraordinary true story of Odette Sansom, the British spy who operated in occupied France and fell in love with her commanding officer during World War II—perfect for fans of Unbroken, The Nightingale, and Code Girls. The year is 1942, and World War II is in full swing. Odette Sansom decides to follow in her war hero father’s footsteps by becoming an SOE agent to aid Britain and her beloved homeland, France. Five failed attempts and one plane crash later, she finally lands in occupied France to begin her mission. It is here that she meets her commanding officer Captain Peter Churchill. As they successfully complete mission after mission, Peter and Odette fall in love. All the while, they are being hunted by the cunning German secret police sergeant, Hugo Bleicher, who finally succeeds in capturing them. They are sent to Paris’s Fresnes prison, and from there to concentration camps in Germany where they are starved, beaten, and tortured. But in the face of despair, they never give up hope, their love for each other, or the whereabouts of their colleagues. In Code Name: Lise, Larry Loftis paints a portrait of true courage, patriotism, and love—of two incredibly heroic people who endured unimaginable horrors and degradations. He seamlessly weaves together the touching romance between Odette and Peter and the thrilling cat and mouse game between them and Sergeant Bleicher. With this amazing testament to the human spirit, Loftis proves once again that he is adept at writing “nonfiction that reads like a page-turning novel” (Parade).

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781508278924
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Publication date: 01/15/2019
Edition description: Unabridged
Sales rank: 414,571
Product dimensions: 5.60(w) x 5.80(h) x 1.10(d)

About the Author

Kate Reading is an Audie Award-winning narrator and has received dozens of Earphones Awards. She has been named by AudioFile magazine as a "Voice of the Century," as well as the Best Voice in Science Fiction & Fantasy in 2008 and 2009 and Best Voice in Biography & Culture in 2010. She is also a theater actor in the Washington, DC, area and has been a member of the Woolly Mammoth Theatre Company since 1987. Her work onstage has been recognized by the Helen Hayes Awards Society, among others.



Larry Loftis is the international bestselling author of the nonfiction spy thriller, Into the Lion's Mouth: The True Story of Dusko Popov—World War II Spy, Patriot, and the Real-Life Inspiration for James Bond, which has been translated into multiple languages around the world. Prior to becoming a full-time writer, Mr. Loftis was a corporate attorney and adjunct professor of law. He can be found on Facebook, Twitter, and at LarryLoftis.com.

Table of Contents

Map xi

Dramatis Personae xiii

Preface xv

Prologue xix

Chapter 1 Duty 1

Chapter 2 Jinxed 14

Chapter 3 Mission to Marseille 30

Chapter 4 The Briefcase 46

Chapter 5 Control 56

Chapter 6 The Kiss 66

Chapter 7 Pearl of the French Alps 77

Chapter 8 Grand Duke 88

Chapter 9 Lifeless 99

Chapter 10 The Beam 112

Chapter 11 They Will Send for You 121

Chapter 12 Tick, Tick 138

Chapter 13 The Black Hollow 151

Chapter 14 Viennese Waltzes 162

Chapter 15 All My Love 174

Chapter 16 Lily of the Valley 184

Chapter 17 The Bunker 194

Chapter 18 The Slaughter 208

Chapter 19 Still Warm 221

Chapter 20 Pierre 232

Chapter 21 Hunting the Hunter 237

Chapter 22 Fanning the Damned 241

Chapter 23 Completing the Loop 250

Epilogue 257

Appendix: The SOE Official History Affair 267

Author's Note 279

Acknowledgments 281

Notes 283

Bibliography 343

Index 351

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Code Name: Lise: The True Story of the Woman Who Became WWII's Most Highly Decorated Spy 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Anonymous 21 days ago
Great read! Could not put it down
3C 12 months ago
I was captivated by this story of Odette Sansom, one of the women specifically recruited by Britain’s SOE, Special Operations Executive, to serve as secret agents. Loftis, through meticulous research including diaries, interviews, and archives, both engages and educates us with this facet of women serving their country. Odette, code name Lise, is determined, as are the other female agents, to "do their part" for the war, just as their brothers, husbands, and boyfriends are heading for the front lines. The author paints a picture with words, and the book reads more like a novel. Such a large part of WWII history is revealed in heart-stopping and brutal detail. The Resistance fighters were committed to the overthrow of the Nazi occupation by whatever means possible. Enjoying history, I have read a number of books regarding the war, along with hearing many stories from family members who served. I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher, through NetGalley. Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own.