The Cloud of Unknowing

The Cloud of Unknowing


View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Written in Middle English sometime in the latter half of the 14th century, “The Cloud of Unknowing” is an anonymous work of Christian Mysticism. Surviving to us in only seventeen known manuscripts, “The Cloud of Unknowing” is meant as a spiritual guide of contemplation upon God. The work advises not to seek a better understanding of God through knowledge and intellect, but rather to surrender oneself to the darkness of the realm of the “unknowing”. It is here, where by the abandonment of consideration of the particular attributes of God, which it is argued cannot truly be known to man, is replaced with intense contemplation that may lead to an understanding of the true nature of God. Presented here is the translation into modern English by Evelyn Underhill first published in 1922. Evelyn Underhill, as one of the leading authorities on Christian mysticism of the early 20th century, is perfectly in her element here introducing this work to modern readers. A fascinating work of Christian literature, “The Cloud of Unknowing” in its abstract and at times paradoxical argument will give great insight into the mind of the Medieval Christian mystic. This edition is printed on premium acid-free paper.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781420965438
Publisher: Neeland Media
Publication date: 12/16/2019
Pages: 96
Sales rank: 884,744
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.23(d)

About the Author

Robert Benson writes and speaks on living a more contemplative and prayerful life in a modern world, about the search for and the discovery of the sacred in the midst of our everyday lives. An alumnus of the Academy for Spiritual Formation, he is also a member of the Friends of Silence and of the Poor, an ecumenical order of lay people. Robert is the author of many books including In Constant Prayer, A Good Life: Benedict's Guide to Everyday Joy, and A Good Neighbor: Benedict's Guide to Community.

Table of Contents




Chapters 1-10

Chapters 11-20

Chapters 21-30

Chapters 31-40

Chapters 41-50

Chapters 51-60

Chapters 61-70

Chapters 71-75

Customer Reviews