Closer to the Truth [US Deluxe Edition]

Closer to the Truth [US Deluxe Edition]

by CherCher

CD(Special Edition)

$25.97 $26.99 Save 4% Current price is $25.97, Original price is $26.99. You Save 4%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, June 24


After half a decade in the music industry, it's amazing that Cher is still making records in 2013. That Closer to the Truth is any good at all is even more shocking. With the help of her longtime producer Mark Taylor, plus Billy Mann and Paul Oakenfold, the album has a fully modern sound, a large portion of the songs (written by the usual cast of many that includes P!nk and Cher herself) are hooky and fun, and her voice, aided by technology or not, still carries a lot of weight and power. The album is split down the middle with the first half made up of shimmering, supercharged dance tracks that have disco and house influences and seem destined to fire up clubgoers with their soaring choruses. The empowerment jam "Woman's World" has the most impact, but the whole batch of songs packs a big, glittery punch. Cher sounds absolutely in her element with these songs and her thundering vocals fit perfectly in the mix. After a campy, banjo-led romp that sounds like someone tried to fuse Mumford & Sons with the Scissor Sisters ("I Walk Alone"), the second half heads deep into some heavy adult contemporary sounds. [The Deluxe Edition of Closer to the Truth adds three bonus tracks, any one of which would have fit perfectly on the album proper. The Timbaland-produced hip house-inspired "I Don't Have to Sleep to Dream" is the standout, but the other two songs (the uplifting "Pride" and power ballad "You Haven't Seen the Last of Me") are almost as good.]

Product Details

Release Date: 09/24/2013
Label: Warner Records
UPC: 0093624941521
catalogNumber: 536117
Rank: 97917


  1. Woman's World
  2. Take It Like a Man
  3. My Love
  4. Dressed To Kill
  5. Red
  6. Lovers Forever
  7. I Walk Alone
  8. Sirens
  9. Favorite Scars
  10. I Hope You Find It
  11. Lie To Me
  12. I Don't Have To Sleep To Dream
  13. Pride
  14. You Haven't Seen the Last of Me

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Cher   Primary Artist
Josie Aiello   Background Vocals
Stevie Blacke   Violin,Cello,Viola
Josh Freese   Drums
Lee Levin   Drums
Jamie Muhoberac   Keyboards
Ray Parker   Guitar
Ian Walker   Contrabass (Vocal)
Jonathan Yudkin   Strings
Tom Barnes   Drums
Joel Shearer   Guitar
Billy Mann   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Background Vocals
Dan Warner   Electric Guitar
Kuk Harrell   Background Vocals
Matt Serletic   Keyboards
Robin Lynch   Electric Guitar
Adam Phillips   Guitar
Chris Chaney   Bass
Pete Wallace   Bass,Keyboards
Jeanette Olsson   Background Vocals
Rita Campbell   Background Vocals
Jake Shears   Vocals
Carl Ryden   Drums,Keyboards
Matt Morris   Background Vocals
Niklas Olovson   Bass
Justin Derrico   Acoustic Guitar
Ash Soan   Drums
Sandy Buglass   Guitar
Ben Kohn   Guitar
Jess Collins   Background Vocals
Mark Taylor   Keyboards
Patrick Mascall   Guitar
Tim Powell   Keyboards
Dario Darnell   Keyboards
Lorne Ashley Brigham-Bowes   Keyboards
Bianca Claxton   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Cher   Composer,Executive Producer
Shirley Eikhard   Composer
Paul Oakenfold   Composer,Producer
Roger Davies   Management
Steve Robson   Composer
Lindsay Scott   Executive Producer,Management
Robin Smith   String Arrangements
Ren Swan   Engineer
Pat Thrall   Engineer
Diane Warren   Composer
Jonathan Yudkin   Composer,String Arrangements
Tom Barnes   Composer
Jerome "J-Roc" Harmon   Composer,Producer
Billy Mann   Arranger,Composer,Producer,Engineer
Jeri Heiden   Art Direction
Mark Dobson   Engineer
Timbaland   Producer
Kuk Harrell   Engineer,Vocal Engineer,Vocal Producer
Doug Trantow   Engineer,Pro-Tools
Matt Serletic   Arranger,Programming,Producer
Robin Lynch   Composer
Alex Arias   Engineer,Pro-Tools
Chris Godbey   Composer
Liz Rosenberg   Publicity
Tim Mosley   Composer
Pink   Composer
John Hanes   Engineer
Paul Barry   Composer
Pete Wallace   Arranger,Engineer
Eric Weaver   Engineer
Deb Paull   Personal Assistant
Jennifer Ruiz   Personal Assistant
Carl Ryden   Composer,Programming,Producer
Ryan Corey   Art Direction
Jeff Fenster   Additional Production
Bonnie McKee   Composer
Nell Bryden   Composer
Matt Morris   Composer
Ivan Corraliza   Additional Production
MachoPsycho   Producer,Engineer
Niklas Olovson   Composer
Sam Preston   Composer,Instrumentation
Marcos Tovar   Engineer
Josh Gudwin   Engineer,Vocal Engineer
Steve Price   Engineer
Joshua Crosby   Producer
Marc Nelkin   Composer
Ben Kohn   Composer
Mark Taylor   Composer,Programming,Producer,Vocal Producer,Instrumentation
Chris "Tek" O'Ryan   Engineer
Kelly Sheehan   Composer
Tebey Ottoh   Composer
Patrick Mascall   Composer
Peter Kelleher   Composer
Jeffrey Steele   Composer
Mary Leay   Composer
Laura Pergolizzi   Composer
Josh Crosby   Producer
Wayne Anthony Hector   Composer
JP Jones   Composer
Greta Svabo-Bech   Composer
Tim Powell   Composer,Programming,Producer
Dario Darnell   Programming
TMS   Producer
Anthony "TC" Crawford   Composer,Additional Production
Lorne Ashley Brigham-Bowes   Composer,Programming
Dario Brigham-Bowes   Composer
JD Walker   Composer,Additional Production

Customer Reviews