Free Shipping on Orders of $35 or More


by Marvin Sapp Marvin Sapp


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, May 25


Marvin Sapp's 11th solo album, Close, was inspired by its personal title track, which Sapp wrote in the aftermath of losing his wife of 20 years to cancer. After deciding to record it, he worked to produce an accompanying set of songs with a mind to uplifting those facing hardship. The resulting tracks include collaborations such as "Kind God," written by Kirk Franklin, and "You and Me Together," with featured vocalists Erica Campbell and Izze Williams. The ballad "Listen" was written and produced by R. Kelly. Close debuted at number one on the Billboard Hot Gospel Albums chart, his fifth record to top the chart.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 09/29/2017
Label: Rca
UPC: 0889854222529
catalogNumber: 542225
Rank: 145088


  1. Safe In You
  2. He Is
  3. Listen
  4. You and Me Together
  5. Kind God
  6. Face To Face
  7. Carried Me
  8. All In Your Name
  9. Close
  10. Light The Way

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Marvin Sapp   Primary Artist
Erskine Hawkins   Keyboards
Terry Baker   Drums
Kirk Franklin   Keyboards
Aaron Lindsey   Bass,Piano,Strings,Horn,Keyboards,Background Vocals,fender rhodes,Hammond B3
Caltomeesh West   Background Vocals
Chelsea West   Background Vocals
Bobby Sparks   Clavinet
Jamil Williams   Background Vocals
Rick Watford   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar
Calvin Rodgers   Drums
Myron Butler   Vocals,Background Vocals
Darrell Freeman   Bass,keyboard bass
Daphanie Wright   Background Vocals
Kermit Wells   Hammond B3
Doug DeHays   Baritone Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Lucius B. Hoskins   Guitar
Faith Anderson   Vocals
Michael Bethany   Vocals
Nick Mcnack   Bas Dessus
Robert "Sput" Searight   Drums
Melodie Davis   Vocals
Terence Vaughn   fender rhodes,Hammond B3
Tavarius Johnson   Drums
Choir Of Life   Vocals
Mark Lettieri   Guitar
Justin Lay   Bass,Piano
Darek Cobbs   Piano,Keyboards,Synthesizer Bass
Darian Yancey   Vocals,Background Vocals
Chaun Horton   Drums
Jessica Reed   Vocals
Matthew Ramsey   Bass
Edwin Carranza   Bass
Leonard Jarman   Piano,Keyboards
Frank Moka   Percussion
Lakea Stokes   Vocals
Izze Williams   Rap
Corlandos Scott   Saxophone
Phlip Lasiter   Trumpet
Eternia Garrett   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Bill Gaither   Composer
Phil Thornton   Executive Producer
Stan Jones   Composer
R. Kelly   Producer
Kirk Franklin   Composer,Producer
Aaron Lindsey   Arranger,Composer,Programming,Producer,Engineer,Vocal Engineer
Rodney Jerkins   Arranger,Composer,Programming,Producer
Marvin Sapp   Composer,Executive Producer
Bobby Terry   Composer
Robert Kelly   Composer
Gloria Gaither   Composer
Myron Butler   Vocal Engineer
Solomon Edwards   Composer
Tim Parker   Art Direction
Christopher Lewis   Composer
Chip Dixson   Composer
Isaac Show   Composer
Zeke Listenbee   Composer
Kenneth Shelton   Arranger
Terence Vaughn   Arranger
Jarmone Davis   Composer
Darek Cobbs   Arranger,Programming
Max Stark   Programming
Edwin Carranza   Arranger
Jason Root   Liner Notes
Giovanni Murrillo   Vocal Engineer
Tamone Bacon   Liner Notes
Phlip Lasiter   Horn Arrangements
Dylan Orleas   Engineer
Derek Keota   Engineer

Customer Reviews