Pub. Date:
Clifford Odets: American Playwright: The Years from 1906-1940

Clifford Odets: American Playwright: The Years from 1906-1940

by Margaret Brenman-Gibson


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, September 23


(Applause Books). Clifford Odets through his plays, which include "Waiting for Lefty" and "Awake" and "Sing!", was the champion of the oppressed, avenger for the poor. He and his plays, as presented by the influential Group Theatre, were the conscience of America during the Depression. Author Margaret Brenman-Gibson, a respected psychoanalyst and close personal friend, penned what is considered the classic biography of Odets. Based on exhaustive research, including access to his personal papers, plus her own insights into the man and his career, it is at last back in prtin. The book is richly annotated, with a thorough bibliography, personal chronology, a list of Odets' works, published and unpublished, and a section of rare photographs.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781557834577
Publisher: Applause
Publication date: 01/01/2002
Series: Applause Books Series
Pages: 780
Product dimensions: 6.10(w) x 9.10(h) x 1.80(d)

Customer Reviews