Classic Protest Songs from Smithsonian Folkways

Classic Protest Songs from Smithsonian Folkways

CD(Includes book)

$12.64 $12.99 Save 3% Current price is $12.64, Original price is $12.99. You Save 3%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, April 22

Product Details

Release Date: 03/24/2009
Label: Smithsonian Folkways
UPC: 0093074019726
catalogNumber: 40197
Rank: 46041


  1. Freedom Now Chant
  2. Jesus Christ
  3. Bourgeois Blues
  4. Black, Brown, And White
  5. Baby, I've Been Thinking
  6. Blowin' in the Wind
  7. This Land Is Your Land
  8. Turn, Turn, Turn
  9. As Long as the Grass Will Grow
  10. Talking Pay TV
  11. Masters of War
  12. Waist Deep in the Big Muddy
  13. Agent Orange
  14. Strange Fruit
  15. How Can a Poor Man Stand Such Times and Live
  16. I'm Going to Write the Governor of Georgia
  17. When We Make It Through
  18. Evicted Tenant
  19. Corrido de César Chávez
  20. Gone, Gone, Gone
  21. Spirits of the Revolution
  22. We Shall Overcome

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Big Bill Broonzy   Guitar,Vocals
Champion Jack Dupree   Piano,Vocals
Lead Belly   Guitar,Vocals
Guy Carawan   Guitar,Vocals
Woody Guthrie   Guitar,Vocals
Jack Hardy   Guitar,Vocals
Phil Ochs   Guitar,Vocals
Mike Seeger   Fiddle,Vocals
Peggy Seeger   Autoharp,Vocals
Pete Seeger   Banjo,Vocals
Happy Traum   Guitar,Vocals
Jorge Reyes   Bass
Steve Forbert   Guitar,Vocals
Janis Ian   Guitar,Vocals
Barbara Dane   Guitar,Vocals
Peter La Farge   Guitar,Vocals
Tom Paley   Banjo
Liz Getz   Guitar,Vocals
Agnes "Sis" Cunningham   Guitar,Vocals
John Cohen   Guitar
Mark Dann   Bass
Pablo Menendez   Guitar,Vocals
Brother John Sellers   Guitar,Vocals
Carlos Alfonso   Vocals
Jill Burkee   Vocals
Frank Padilla   Drums
Ele Valdés   Vocals
Gil Turner   Guitar,Vocals
Delores Dixion   Guitar,Vocals
Larry Estridge   Guitar,Vocals
Claudia Jane Berger   Guitar,Vocals
Bob Cohen   Guitar,Vocals

Technical Credits

Champion Jack Dupree   Composer
Guy Carawan   Composer
Woody Guthrie   Composer
Phil Ochs   Composer
Pete Seeger   Composer
Bob Dylan   Composer
Janis Ian   Composer
Brian Wilson   Composer
Peter La Farge   Composer
Mike Love   Composer
Frank Hamilton   Composer
Zilphia Horton   Composer
Huddie Ledbetter   Composer
Jeff Place   Liner Notes,Annotation
Lorenzo Martinez   Contributor
William Lee Conley Broonzy   Composer
Alfred Reed   Composer
D.A. Sonneborn   Audio Production
Lewis Allan   Composer
Daniel Sheehy   Audio Production
Red Shadow   Composer
Larry Estridge   Composer
Muriel Hogan   Composer
Dorie Ellzey   Composer
Icie Jewell Lawrence   Composer
David Maestas   Contributor
Miguel Gabriel Vázquez   Contributor
Jack Dupree   Composer
Felipe Contu   Composer

Customer Reviews