Classic Banjo from Smithsonian Folkways

Classic Banjo from Smithsonian Folkways


$12.64 $12.99 Save 3% Current price is $12.64, Original price is $12.99. You Save 3%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Compiled by Greg Adams and Jeff Place, and drawn from the over 300 albums in the Smithsonian Folkways catalog, this 30-track set brings together a wonderful sequence of banjo tunes in all styles, from modal to bluegrass, done by the likes of Frank Proffitt ("Johnson Boys"), Dock Boggs ("Bright Sunny South"), Snuffy Jenkins ("Sally Ann"), Ola Belle Reed ("Foggy Mountain Top"), Doc Watson ("Rambling Hobo"), Roscoe Holcomb ("Black Eye Susie"), Elizabeth Cotten ("Georgia Buck"), and many others, making it a bright, rippling introduction to American folk banjo.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/06/2013
Label: Smithsonian Folkways
UPC: 0093074020920
catalogNumber: 740209
Rank: 3279

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Bill Monroe   Mandolin
Peter Rowan   Guitar
Tony Trischka   Banjo
Mick Moloney   Banjo
Bill Keith   Banjo
Doc Watson   Banjo,Guitar
Elizabeth Cotten   Banjo,Vocals
Mike Seeger   Banjo,Vocals
Pete Seeger   Banjo,Vocals
Steve Pistorius   Piano
John Snipes   Banjo,Vocals
Camp   Banjo
Dock Boggs   Banjo,Vocals
Frank Proffitt   Banjo,Vocals
Roscoe Holcomb   Banjo,Vocals
Kevin Roth   Dulcimer
Ola Belle Reed   Banjo,Vocals
Snuffy Jenkins   Banjo
Wade Ward   Banjo
Rufus Crisp   Banjo
Roger Sprung   Banjo
James Keane   Accordion
Eugene Cox   Guitar
Everett Lilly   Bass
Tex Logan   Fiddle
Robbie O'Connell   Guitar
Jerry O'Sullivan   uillean pipes
Roni Stoneman   Banjo
Don Vappie   Banjo
Bud Reed   Guitar
Wendell Brunious   Trumpet
Dink Roberts   Banjo,Vocals
Bill Evans   Banjo
Ken Perlman   Banjo
Hobart Smith   Banjo
Lee Sexton   Banjo
John Tyree   Banjo
Bob Jones   Guitar
Willie Chapman   Banjo
Leonard Bowles   Fiddle
Irvin Cook   Banjo,Vocals
Lewis "Big Sweet" Hairston   Banjo,Vocals
Donald Suhor   Clarinet
Pete Steele   Banjo
"Banjo" Bill Cornett   Banjo,Vocals
Josh Thomas   Banjo,Vocals
Johnny McGreevy   Fiddle
Richard Moten   Bass
Stan Joseph   Drums
Willie Locker   Mandolin
Bob Thomas   Drums
Marjorie Michels   Piano
Ollie Phillips   Bass

Technical Credits

Bill Monroe   Composer
Mike Seeger   Engineer
Kevin Roth   Engineer
Robert Hicks   Composer
Louis Armstrong   Composer
Moses Asch   Engineer
A.P. Carter   Composer
John Cohen   Engineer
Jeff Place   Introduction,Annotation
Ralph Rinzler   Engineer
John Tyler   Engineer
Art Rosenbaum   Engineer
Ken Perlman   Arranger
Kip Lornell   Engineer
D.A. Sonneborn   Executive Producer
Fleming Brown   Engineer
Margot Nassau   Licensing
Greg Adams   Annotation,Essay
Joe Parisi   Art Direction,Layout
Betty Derbyshire   Financial Director
Tom Tedesco   Engineer
David Horgan   Marketing
Abe Holzmann   Composer
Daniel E. Sheehy   Executive Producer
Sandy Paton   Engineer
Eric Davidson   Engineer
Laura Dion   Marketing
Joe Morley   Composer
Ed Kahn   Engineer
Margot Mayo   Engineer
Stuf Jamieson   Engineer
Clifford Endres   Engineer
J.H. Jennings   Composer
Cecelia Conway   Engineer

Customer Reviews