Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, October 28


In the far-future city of Clarges, you can live forever-if you can make the grade. In Clarges, everyone competes for the ultimate prize of immortality. Gavin Waylock lost the live-forever rank of Amaranth when he was accused of murder; now, after seven years in hiding, he begins again the struggle to reach the top. But a strong-willed woman, The Jacynth Martin, is determined to see him fail-and failure means death. SF Grandmaster Jack Vance crafts a classic tale of man against dystopia, rich in intrigue, suspense and dark humor. - Matt Hughes

Clarges, published originally as "To LiveForever", is Volume 10 of the Spatterlight Press Signature Series.Released in the centenary of the author's birth, this handsome new collectionis based upon the prestigious Vance Integral Edition. Select volumes enjoyup-to-date maps, and many are graced with freshly-written forewords contributed by a distinguished group of authors. Each book bears a facsimile of the author's signature and a previously-unpublished photograph, chosen from family archives for the period the book was written. These uniquefeatures will be appreciated by all, from seasoned Vance collector to new reader sampling the spectrum of this author's influential work forthe first time. - John Vance II

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781619470996
Publisher: Spatterlight Press
Publication date: 03/23/2016
Pages: 218
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.50(d)

About the Author

California native Jack Vance (1916-2013) was one of the greats of science fiction. He was the author of dozens of sci-fi books and fantasy novels, including the popular Lyonesse and Dying Earth series and the Hugo and Nebula Award-winning book The Last Castle. In 1997, he was honored as a Grand Master by the Science Fiction Writers of America. He died in Oakland, California.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews