City of Refuge

City of Refuge

by Abigail WashburnAbigail Washburn


$15.69 $15.99 Save 2% Current price is $15.69, Original price is $15.99. You Save 2%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, June 17


In her relatively short musical career, Abigail Washburn has covered a lot of ground, both physically and metaphorically. Bouncing between China and Appalachia has informed much of her musical output and has influenced a body of work that goes far beyond the usual claw hammer banjo repertoire.

Her Rounder debut, City of Refuge, is a sublime marriage of old-time and indie-pop. On the album, Washburn pairs venerable folk elements with far-flung sounds, and the results feel both strangely familiar and unlike anything anybody's ever heard before.

The album features My Morning Jacket's Carl Broemel, the Decemberists' Chris Funk, Turtle Island Quartet's Jeremy Kittell, atmospheric jazz guitarist Bill Frisell, veteran Nashville studio percussionist Kenny Malone, Old Crow Medicine Show's Ketch Secor, and Morgan Jahnig, Wu Fei, master of the guzheng, and the Mongolian string band Hanggai, who manage to contribute ambient throat singing from half way around the world.

The album was produced by Tucker Martine (The Decemberists, Tift Merritt, Mudhoney) and features the talents of multi-instrumentalist singer-songwriter Kai Welch (Tommy and the Whale). City of Refuge offers and expansive palette of supple and modern textures resulting in a remarkably harmonious piece of art. From the Label

Product Details

Release Date: 01/11/2011
Label: Rounder / Umgd
UPC: 0011661328921
catalogNumber: 613289
Rank: 116707


  1. Prelude
  2. City of Refuge
  3. Bring Me My Queen
  4. Chains
  5. Ballad of Treason
  6. Last Train
  7. Burn Thru
  8. Corner Girl
  9. Dreams of Nectar
  10. Divine Bell
  11. Bright Morning Stars

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Abigail Washburn   Primary Artist,Vocals
Bill Frisell   Electric Guitar
Viktor Krauss   Electric Bass,Double Bass
Kenny Malone   Percussion,Drums
Neil Anderson   Choir, Chorus
Tucker Martine   Percussion,Drums
Kevin Dailey   Guitar,Vocals,Choir, Chorus
Carl Broemel   Pedal Steel Guitar,Electric Guitar
Chris Funk   Pedal Steel Guitar,Electric Guitar,Bowed Dulcimer
Morgan Jahnig   Bass
Jeremy Kittel   Violin,Viola
Rayna Gellert   Fiddle
Joe Murphy   Tuba
Yiliqi   Throat Singing
Dabney Morris   Choir, Chorus
James Wallace   Choir, Chorus
Nathaniel Smith   Cello
Annalisa Tornfelt   Fiddle
Jamie Dick   Percussion,Drums
Carla Parisi   Choir, Chorus
Kai Welch   Guitar,Piano,Trumpet,Keyboards,Pump Organ,Tongue Drum,Choir Conductor
Wu Fei   Guzheng
Ketch Secor   Guitar,Vocals
Ben Elkins   Choir, Chorus
Reverend Robert Hardy   Choir, Chorus
Leslie Arney   Choir, Chorus
Jacob Gordon   Choir, Chorus
Harry Skeen   Choir, Chorus
Elizabeth Pullum   Choir, Chorus
Casey Miekle   Choir, Chorus
Bobby Funk   Choir, Chorus
Veta Bates Allen   Choir, Chorus
Diego "D-Bone"   Trombone
Dyar   Choir, Chorus
Batubagen   Throat Singing

Technical Credits

Tucker Martine   Arranger,Producer,Engineer
Traditional   Composer
Erica Harris   Artwork
Jeremy Kittel   String Arrangements
Abigail Washburn   Arranger,Composer
James Wallace   Composer
Tommy Hans   Composer
Kai Welch   Composer
Ketch Secor   Composer

Customer Reviews