Circles in the Stream

Circles in the Stream

by Bruce CockburnBruce Cockburn


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, April 16


Released shortly after the transitional In the Falling Dark, Circles in the Stream seemed to serve as the final chapter in Bruce Cockburn's promising yet inconsistent early career. Recorded live in Toronto, the record brings together some of Cockburn's best songs from this period, including the beautiful meditation "All the Diamonds in the World," the bluesy "Mama Just Wants to Barrelhouse All Night Long," and "Lord of the Starfields" from his previous release. And while there isn't anything drastically different here, many of the tracks are more assured and fully realized than their studio counterparts, with Cockburn's guitar and voice front and center -- solo or backed by subtle bass, percussion, and piano or marimba. There are also a scattering of new tunes that mix nicely with the older material, with the Native American tribute "Red Brother, Red Sister" and the instrumental "Deer Dancing Round a Broken Mirror" the true standouts. Strong performances and a good selection of songs help Circles in the Stream succeed not only as a good live album, but also as a decent retrospective of Cockburn's first seven years.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/06/2008
Label: Linus
UPC: 0620638034620
catalogNumber: 346
Rank: 50220


  1. The Pipes. The Pipes.
  2. Starwheel
  3. Never So Free
  4. Deer Dancing Round A Broken Mirror
  5. Homme Brulant
  6. Free To Be
  7. Mama Just Wants To Barrelhouse All Night Long
  8. Cader Idris
  9. Arrows Of Light
  10. One Day I Walk
  11. Love Song
  12. Red Brother Red Sister
  13. Lord Of The Starfields
  14. All The Diamonds In The World
  15. Dialogue With The Devil
  16. Joy Will Find A Way
  17. God, Bless The Children

Album Credits

Customer Reviews