Pub. Date:
Cincinnati's Savage Seamstress: The Shocking Edythe Klumpp Murder Scandal

Cincinnati's Savage Seamstress: The Shocking Edythe Klumpp Murder Scandal

by Richard O Jones


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, September 22


On a cold, drizzly fall afternoon in 1958, a trio of duck hunters stumbled on the charred remains of Cincinnati resident Louise Bergen. When investigators learned that her estranged husband was living with an older divorcee, Edythe Klumpp, they wasted no time in questioning her. When she failed a lie detector test, Edythe spilled out a confession. Although it did not fit the physical evidence, she was found guilty and sentenced to death in the electric chair. Governor Michael V. DiSalle put his political career on the line to save Edythe from the death penalty, personally interviewing the prisoner while she was under the influence of truth serum." But was it the truth? Richard O Jones separates the facts from the fiction in this comprehensive book about the Klumpp murder."

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781626196858
Publisher: History Press, The
Publication date: 10/07/2014
Series: True Crime
Pages: 144
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 8.90(h) x 0.50(d)

About the Author

After 25 years as an award-winning feature writer, editor and arts critic for the Hamilton Journal-News, Richard O Jones left daily journalism in the fall of 2013 for a life of true crime. A 1986 magna cum laude graduate of Miami University, he was recently honored for his by his alma mater for his written work on the centennial commemoration of the Great Flood of 1913.

Table of Contents

Acknowledgements 7

A Gold Pyre on Cowan Lake 9

Louise 17

Edythe 26

A Savage Triangle 31

Polygraphs 41

A Goose Chase 49

'Another Case on My Hands" 54

An Embroidered Confession 66

The State's Case 72

Edythe on the Stand 88

The Chaplain Calls 97

A Confession Restitched 101

Truth Serum 107

A New Sentence 115

Fresh Evidence 120

A Most Thorough Investigation 124

Epilogue 129

Note from the Author 131

Bibliography 133

Index 139

About the Author 143

Customer Reviews