Chronovision [LP] [Bonus Track]

Chronovision [LP] [Bonus Track]

by OberhoferOberhofer

Vinyl LP(Long Playing Record - 180 Gram Vinyl)

Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, June 18


The road to Brad Oberhofer's 2015 LP, Chronovision, was paved with elaborate demos and exploratory misfires. According to his press release, a grand total of 106 demos from a variety of locations and situations preceded the dozen well-curated tracks that make up his sophomore release. After a quick rise from a Brooklyn bedroom to recording his 2012 debut, Time Capsules II, with studio legend Steve Lillywhite (U2, XTC), the indie pop wunderkind spent the next few years recording material on his own in upstate New York, as well as with Phil Ek (Fleet Foxes, Band of Horses) in Seattle, before scrapping it all when his vision finally coalesced. More so than on Oberhofer's debut, Chronovision feels rooted in the tight static of '80s new wave, but veers occasionally into sweeping orchestral pop and psychedelic grandeur. The sessions that eventually made the cut were mixed by Ben Allen (Washed Out, Animal Collective) and have a more muscular feel, especially on standouts like "Nevena" and "Someone Take Me Home." The punchier, less frenetic rhythm section allows room for some of his busier arrangements to work, but overall, Chronovision feels less cluttered than his debut. Another highlight, the majestic and poignant piano ballad "Sea of Dreams," represents Oberhofer's dreamier side and is probably the most affecting track here. In other places, though, there's a feeling of having captured a handful of exciting ideas that don't quite add up to a great song. It's a common trapping for some artists who can seemingly produce an endless fount of creativity, but often move on to the next idea without refining the one before it. Still, the extended editing process of whittling down his 106 demos seems to have worked well enough for Oberhofer as he turns in a solidly crafted follow-up. [An LP version added the bonus track "Earplugs."]

Product Details

Release Date: 10/09/2015
Label: Glassnote
UPC: 0810599020699
catalogNumber: 16901
Rank: 33747


  1. Chronovision
  2. Nevena
  3. Together/Never
  4. Memory Remains
  5. Someone Take Me Home
  6. Sea of Dreams
  7. Ballroom Floor
  8. White Horse, Black River
  9. Me 4 Me
  10. Sun Halo
  11. What You Know
  12. Listen to Everyone
  13. Earplugs

Album Credits

Customer Reviews