Buy One, Get One 50% Off Our Monthly Picks!
Shop Now
Chocolate Starfish and the Hot Dog Flavored Water

Chocolate Starfish and the Hot Dog Flavored Water

by Limp Bizkit Limp Bizkit


$11.89 $16.99 Save 30% Current price is $11.89, Original price is $16.99. You Save 30%.


It's hard to compete with the unadulterated poetry of a line like, "I did it all for the nookie, so you can take that cookie and stick it up your yeah!" from the multi-platinum album Significant Other. But Limp Bizkit thrive under pressure and relish the chance to challenge -- or at least piss off -- both fans and critics. The band's third disc, Chocolate Starfish and the Hotdog Flavored Water, quickly bursts into confrontational mode on "Hot Dog," with vocalist Fred Durst saying the "F" word more than 30 times before taking a dig at Trent Reznor. From there, Durst attacks shit-talkers, backstabbers, unfaithful women, and journalists. Even the album title sounds like a snide satire of a pompous album title like Smashing Pumpkins' Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness. Durst's lyrical tirades are so fierce they threaten to obscure the music, which is pretty funkin' phat. Like Significant Other, this album is rooted in groove-laden rap-metal, but this time around the Bizkit downplay distorted bombast, focusing more on Wes Borland's galactic guitar squiggles, John Otto's hip-hop beats, and DJ Lethal's creative scratching. The caustic tracks "Rollin' (Air Raid Vehicle)" and "Rollin' (Urban Assault Vehicle)" are bolstered by guest raps by DMX, Method Man, and Redman, and "Getcha Groove On" benefits from an appearance by Xzibit. But it's creative cuts such as "Livin' It Up" (which samples the Eagles' "Life in the Fast Lane") and "Hold On" (which includes some unexpected CSNY-style vocal harmonies) that make The Hot Dog Flavored Water truly tasty.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 10/17/2000
Label: Interscope Records
UPC: 0606949075927
catalogNumber: 490759
Rank: 5555


Disc 1

  1. Intro
  2. Hot Dog
  3. My Generation
  4. Full Nelson
  5. My Way
  6. Rollin' (Air Raid Vehicle)
  7. Livin' It Up
  8. The One
  9. Getcha Groove On
  10. Take a Look Around
  11. I'll Be OK
  12. Boiler
  13. Hold On
  14. Rollin' (Urban Assault Vehicle)
  15. Outro

Disc 2

  1. [Untitled Track]

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Limp Bizkit   Primary Artist
Redman   Vocals
DJ Lethal   DJ
DMX   Vocals
Rich Keller   Bass Guitar
Scott Weiland   Vocals
Mark Wahlberg   Vocals
Xzibit   Vocals
Stephan Jenkins   Vocals
Fred Durst   Vocals
Ben Stiller   Vocals
Rob Dyrdek   Vocals
Wes Borland   Guitar
Scott Borland   Keyboards
John Otto   Drums
Sam Rivers   Bass

Technical Credits

Joe Barresi   Engineer
DJ Lethal   Producer
Terry Date   Producer,Engineer
Scott Olson   Engineer
Rakim   Engineer
Scott Weiland   Producer
Eric B.   Engineer
Fred Durst   Composer,Producer,Liner Notes,Art Direction
Josh Abraham   Producer
Peter Katsis   Assistant Executive Producer
Ted Reiger   Engineer
Swizz Beatz   Producer
Eve Butler   Executive Producer
Jesse Gorman   Engineer
Dylan Vaughan   Engineer
Wes Borland   Composer,Cover Art
Kevin Guarnieri   Engineer
Barney Chase   Engineer
Darren Venbitti   Engineer
John Otto   Composer
Sam Rivers   Composer

Customer Reviews