Chick Corea, Herbie Hancock, Keith Jarrett, McCoy Tyner

Chick Corea, Herbie Hancock, Keith Jarrett, McCoy Tyner

by Herbie HancockHerbie Hancock


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


This odd anthology from Atlantic reissues selections from trio dates recorded during the 1960s by Keith Jarrett, Chick Corea, and Herbie Hancock, along with otherwise unobtainable early recordings by McCoy Tyner. Jarrett is joined by Charlie Haden and Paul Motian on two originals, both of which show the obvious influence of Bill Evans. Chick Corea is accompanied by Steve Swallow (on acoustic bass rather than the electric bass he switched to a short time later) and Joe Chambers. The pianist's "Tones for Joan's Bones" is swinging, but not nearly as driving as his works in the decades to follow, while his reworking of the show tune "This Is New" features Joe Farrell and Woody Shaw; both tracks also show the influence of Bill Evans. The selections with Herbie Hancock actually come from a Ron Carter-led date (with Billy Cobham rounding out the trio), but these numbers are as much features for the leader as for Hancock; they are the least interesting cuts within this compilation. The Tyner tracks were taped at the end of his third studio session with John Coltrane, although he had performed on a number of earlier live dates with the saxophonist (though none of them were recorded for commercial issue). Because there are no liner notes, one is left to guess whose idea it was for Coltrane to sit out, but Tyner does a credible job with the artist's "Lazy Bird" without his leader and puts his own distinctive stamp on Dave Brubeck's "In Your Own Sweet Way." These two rare selections prove to be the most compelling reason to pick up this CD.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/25/1990
Label: Atlantic
UPC: 0075678140228
catalogNumber: 781402
Rank: 71403

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Herbie Hancock   Primary Artist,Piano,Track Performer
Ron Carter   Bass
Joe Chambers   Drums
Keith Jarrett   Piano,Leader,Track Performer
Elvin Jones   Drums
Woody Shaw   Trumpet,Tenor Saxophone
Steve Swallow   Bass
McCoy Tyner   Piano,Leader,Track Performer
Billy Cobham   Drums
Armando Anthony Corea   Piano,Keyboards,Track Performer
Joe Farrell   Soprano Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Charlie Haden   Bass
Paul Motian   Drums
Steve Davis   Bass

Technical Credits

Ron Carter   Composer
Herbie Mann   Producer
George Avakian   Producer
Dave Green   Engineer
Tom Dowd   Engineer
Nesuhi Ertegun   Producer
Milton Glaser   Artwork
Phil Iehle   Engineer
Ilhan Mimaroglu   Reissue Producer
Phil Ramone   Engineer
Bob Defrin   Art Direction
Abie Sussman   Art Direction

Customer Reviews