Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
Chicago II [Bonus Tracks]

Chicago II [Bonus Tracks]

Chicago II [Bonus Tracks]

Chicago II [Bonus Tracks]


$7.69 $10.99 Save 30% Current price is $7.69, Original price is $10.99. You Save 30%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, February 9


The Chicago Transit Authority recorded this double-barreled follow-up to their eponymously titled 1969 debut effort. The contents of Chicago II (1970) underscore the solid foundation of complex jazz changes with heavy electric rock & roll that the band so brazenly forged on the first set. The septet also continued its ability to blend the seemingly divergent musical styles into some of the best and most effective pop music of the era. One thing that had changed was the band's name, which was shortened to simply Chicago to avoid any potential litigious situations from the city of Chicago's transportation department -- which claimed the name as proprietary property. Musically, James Pankow (trombone) was about to further cross-pollinate the band's sound with the multifaceted six-song "Ballet for a Girl in Buchannon." The classically inspired suite also garnered the band two of its most beloved hits -- the upbeat pop opener "Make Me Smile" as well as the achingly poignant "Color My World" -- both of which remained at the center of the group's live sets. Chicago had certainly not abandoned its active pursuit of blending high-octane electric rockers such as "25 or 6 to 4" to the progressive jazz inflections heard in the breezy syncopation of "The Road." Adding further depth of field is the darker "Poem for the People" as well as the politically charged five-song set titled "It Better End Soon." These selections feature the band driving home its formidable musicality and uncanny ability to coalesce styles telepathically and at a moment's notice. The contributions of Terry Kath (guitar/vocals) stand out as he unleashes some of his most pungent and sinuous leads, which contrast with the tight brass and woodwind trio of Lee Loughnane (trumpet/vocals), Walter Parazaider (woodwinds/vocals), and the aforementioned Pankow. Peter Cetera (bass/vocals) also marks his songwriting debut -- on the final cut of both the suite and the album -- with "Where Do We Go from Here." It bookends both with at the very least the anticipation and projection of a positive and optimistic future.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 07/16/2002
Label: Rhino
UPC: 0081227617226
catalogNumber: 76172
Rank: 6711


  1. Movin' In
  2. The Road
  3. Poem for the People
  4. In the Country
  5. Wake Up Sunshine
  6. Make Me Smile
  7. So Much to Say, So Much to Give
  8. Anxiety's Moment
  9. West Virginia Fantasies
  10. Colour My World
  11. To Be Free
  12. Now More Than Ever
  13. Fancy Colours
  14. 25 or 6 to 4
  15. Prelude
  16. A.M. Mourning
  17. P.M. Mourning
  18. Memories of Love
  19. 1st Movement
  20. 2nd Movement
  21. 3rd Movement
  22. 4th Movement
  23. Where Do We Go from Here?
  24. Make Me Smile
  25. 25 or 6 to 4

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Chicago   Primary Artist
Peter Cetera   Bass,Vocals
Terry Kath   Guitar,Vocals
Lee Loughnane   Trumpet,Vocals
James Pankow   Trombone
Walter Parazaider   Vocals,Woodwind
Daniel Seraphine   Drums
Robert Lamm   Keyboards,Vocals

Technical Credits

Peter Matz   Orchestration
James William Guercio   Producer
Chris Hinshaw   Engineer
Brian Ross-Myring   Engineer
Don Puluse   Engineer
David Wild   Liner Notes
John Berg   Cover Design
Maria Villar   Art Direction
Steven Chean   Editorial Research
Tim Scanlin   Liner Note Coordination
Peter Katz   Composer
Robert Lamm   Composer

Customer Reviews