Chet Baker Big Band

Chet Baker Big Band

by Chet BakerChet Baker


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Releasing an entire album under the moniker Chet Baker Big Band is a bit of a misnomer, as only the first four sides actually incorporate an 11-person configuration. The remaining tracks from the long-player feature a slightly smaller nonet configuration. Among the luminaries joining Baker (trumpet) and participating in the big-band arrangements are Art Pepper (alto sax), Bud Shank (alto sax), Phil Urso (tenor sax), and Bobby Timmons (piano). The critical argument proposing that Baker's style is more akin to bop -- and the residual post-bop -- than the West Coast cool that he is often connected with gets tremendous validation throughout not only the four big-band tracks, but also the remainder of the album. The band bops with tremendous verve behind Baker's unmistakable leads. Jimmy Heath's ultrahip arrangements -- especially of "Tenderly" and "A Foggy Day" -- allow the soloists to improvise fluidly from within the context of the larger unit. The Pierre Michelot composition "Mythe" is notable for some outstanding soloing from Baker and Timmons. It is a shame that poor master tape editing -- a motif that haunts many Dick Bock productions -- mars the overall aesthetic. Of the nonet sides, the band really jumps and responds best to the original compositions such as Phil Urso's "Phil's Blues" and "V-Line." The horn blend on these recordings is likewise striking.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/21/2004
Label: Blue Note Records
UPC: 0724357997522
catalogNumber: 79975
Rank: 116199

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Chet Baker   Primary Artist,Trumpet
Bob Brookmeyer   Valve Trombone
Conte Candoli   Trumpet
Russ Freeman   Piano
Shelly Manne   Drums
Art Pepper   Alto Saxophone
Bill Perkins   Tenor Saxophone
Bud Shank   Alto Saxophone,Baritone Saxophone
Bobby Timmons   Piano
Phil Urso   Alto Saxophone,Baritone Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Bob Graf   Tenor Saxophone
James E. Bond   Bass
Bob Burgess   Trombone
Norman Faye   Trumpet
Bill Hood   Baritone Saxophone
Peter Littman   Drums
Larance Marable   Drums
James McLean   Drums
Norman Raye   Trumpet
Frank Rosolino   Trombone
Carson Smith   Bass
Fred Waters   Alto Saxophone
Jimmy Bond   Bass
Phil Uno   Tenor Saxophone
James McKean   Drums
James McLean   Drums

Technical Credits

George Gershwin   Composer
Jimmy Heath   Arranger
Bill Holman   Arranger
Pierre Michelot   Arranger,Composer
Phil Urso   Arranger
Malcolm Addey   Engineer
Richard Bock   Producer
Michael Cuscuna   Liner Notes,Reissue Producer
Eddie DeLange   Composer
Ira Gershwin   Composer
Walter Gross   Composer
Jack Lawrence   Composer
Johnny Mandel   Arranger
Jack Montrose   Arranger
James Van Heusen   Composer
Dick Bock   Producer
Sam M. Lewis   Composer
Todd Selbert   Liner Notes
John Altoon   Artwork,Cover Design
Christian Chevallier   Arranger
Russ Wilson   Liner Notes,Original Liner Notes
Joe Young   Composer
Harry Akst   Composer

Customer Reviews