The Channel to Freedom

The Channel to Freedom

by Mike Williams


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Channel to Freedom covers D-Day until the end of the war in Europe. As the war moves to its climax Lieutenant-Commander Richard Tremayne’s specialist experience is called upon, to counter new German threats.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781854186898
Publisher: Thorogood
Publication date: 07/28/2011
Series: Tremayne Triology Series , #3
Pages: 392
Product dimensions: 5.25(w) x 8.75(h) x 1.20(d)

About the Author

Mike Williams served eight years both full time and as a reservist, first in the Royal Navy [intelligence] as a Russian-speaking intercept operator, then in the Royal Marines [SBS and Commando], ending as a Second-in Command of a combined SBS and Commando RMR unit. He is married to the children’s author Brenda Williams. They live in Wiltshire and regularly go hill-walking and canoeing in the Isles of Scilly.

Table of Contents

Principal characters 9


The Isles of Scilly 13

Crozon Peninsula 14

Toulon and Les Îles D Hyères 15

Sweden: The Skagerrak and the Kattegat 16

Lorient Enclave 17

County Cork 18

1 Paths To Victory 19

2 Operation Snatch 35

3 The Chateau Keeps A Strange Cellar 61

4 Within A Hair's Breadth 83

5 Operation Dragoon: The Second Channel Of Invasion 99

6 Channel Of Invasion Cleared And Open 117

7 A Political Goulash 135

8 Bryher-The Island Of Hills 149

9 Perhaps A Friend For Life 173

10 Blockade Busters 213

11 A Shock For Tremayne 255

12 Mayhem In Parallel 283

13 Tremayne's Nightmare 323

14 Heart Of Oak 345

15 The Final Curtain 385

Epilogue - 2010 395

Glossary of naval and Royal Marine terms 399

Acknowledgements 405

Customer Reviews