Champagne Charlie

Champagne Charlie

by Leon Redbone


$13.74 $13.99 Save 2% Current price is $13.74, Original price is $13.99. You Save 2%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, January 28
4 New & Used Starting at $3.89


From the opening track, "Champagne Charlie," to the dazzling finale, "T.B. Blues," Leon Redbone presents an introspective collection of blues and big band melodies in timeless fashion, a rare feat because of its release date in 1978. The record was highly acclaimed and regarded as the purest of jazz and classic blues by a remarkable legend and icon in this musical form. Most of the record, like the amiable "Sweet Sue (Just You)" and memorable "Big Bad Bill (Is Sweet William Now)," is filled with the best that blues and ragtime has to offer. The music itself is quite light and jolly during the more uplifting moments, with others such as "I Hate a Man Like You" very depressing and sorrowful. The band backing up Redbone is delightful, filled with jubilant horns, oboes, and trumpets. "T.B. Blues" closes out this record as a charming look back into the world of blues via pioneer Jimmie Rodgers. Two melodies written and composed by giant Jelly Roll Morton are featured here, with fresh and stunning new arrangements by Leon Redbone and company, "If Someone Would Only Love Me" and "I Hate a Man Like You." The record is somewhat poorly recorded, losing its listening ability though still portraying its exuberant style and antique mysteriousness. A charming and romantic listen and study of this period of ragtime and blues that will surely not disappoint the average listener.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/25/1990
Label: Warner Bros / Wea
UPC: 0075992734929
catalogNumber: 3165
Rank: 18470

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Leon Redbone   Primary Artist,Guitar,Vocals
Joe Burke   Track Performer
Leon McAuliffe   Steel Guitar
Vince Giordano   Tuba,Baritone Saxophone
Sammy Price   Piano
Jimmie F. Rodgers   Track Performer
Julien Barber   Violin
Selwart Clarke   Viola
Jonathan Dorn   Tuba
Dennis Drury   Trombone
Tom Evans   Clarinet
William S. Fischer   Strings
Kathryn Kienke   Violin
Regis Landiorio   Violin
George Marge   Ocarina
Eurreal Montgomery   Piano
Kermit Moore   Cello
Chris Whiteley   Trumpet
Ken Whiteley   Banjo,Washboard
Benny Davis   Track Performer
Eddie Davis   Drums

Technical Credits

Leon Redbone   Arranger,Cover Drawing
Joel Dorn   Producer
John Cabalka   Art Direction

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews