Celldweller [Deluxe 10 Year Anniversary Edition]

Celldweller [Deluxe 10 Year Anniversary Edition]

by Celldweller

CD(Special Edition / Anniversary Edition)

View All Available Formats & Editions
1 New & Used Starting at $15.26


The brain behind Celldweller is Klayton (aka Klay Scott). The producer, songwriter, performer, and musical gypsy has been associated with numerous projects, including the Christian industrial outfits Circle of Dust and Argyle Park. As a producer, Klayton has worked with Prong and is involved with New York-based illusionist Criss Angel. Celldweller derives its name partly from the long hours Klayton spent in his home studio crafting its elaborate, production-heavy cocktail of trance, drum'n'bass, and heavy industrial guitar. The project ranges from the aggressive, X Games-style active rock of "Switchback" to the emotive, melodic "Afraid This Time," which recalls the crystalline style of fellow production whiz kid BT. Klayton's industrial background is evident in his vocals, which alternate between throaty yelling and a half-whisper. The album is strikingly melodic, with hooks galore, even on the overdriven metal of "One Good Reason." And Klayton's obvious debt to Trent Reznor can be forgiven, since it's difficult not to emulate the iconographic musician in a genre that he redefined. However, while Reznor's obsessively produced music still bleeds reality, Celldweller suffers from too much refinement. It's almost as if a rogue ProTools rig conceived and produced the album itself, in some sort of nightmare combination of 2001 and Demond Seed. Klayton's humanity barely registers behind elaborate vocal processing, lush beds of trance-y keyboards, and rarefied edges on Celldweller's towering walls of guitar. [A Deluxe Tenth Anniversary Edition, released in 2013, added a second disc with 17 bonus tracks mostly comprising unreleased demos and remixes.]

Product Details

Release Date: 06/11/2013
Label: Fixt
UPC: 0765573869682
catalogNumber: 101
Rank: 34725

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Celldweller   Primary Artist
Kenny James   Drums
Klayton   Group Member
Jarrod Montague   Drums
Grant Mohrman   Acoustic Guitar
Fluffy Starr   Vocals
Victoria Faiella   Vocals
Jennifer Neal   Vocals
Ken Capton   Drums

Technical Credits

Tyler Bacon   Licensing
Klayton   Composer,Producer,Engineer,Remixing
Grant Mohrman   Producer,Engineer
Nelly Recchia   Cover Photo
Blue Stahli   Remixing
Mike Strange   Engineer
Erica Schaub   Layout
No I'm Not   Remixing
Dan Levler   Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews