Can't Slow Down

Can't Slow Down

by ForeignerForeigner

CD(Canadian Import)

$31.34 $32.99 Save 5% Current price is $31.34, Original price is $32.99. You Save 5%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Taking a cue from the Eagles, Foreigner decided to release their first album in 15 years, creating a package that touches upon all phases of their past and into the present on the three-disc Can't Slow Down. The first disc is a brand-new studio recording, the first to feature their new lead vocalist Kelly Hansen, who joined in 2005, replacing Lou Gramm's replacement. The second is a collection of classic hits remixed by Anthony Focx and Marti Frederiksen -- the latter produced the bulk of the new album with Mick Jones, who is the only remaining original member of the band -- while the third disc is a DVD of live performances from 2009, expanded with footage from the making of the album. The DVD is certainly for hardcore fans only, and the same argument could be leveled against the remix disc, since only those intimately familiar with the originals could spot how these differ (generally, they may be punchier but they're not far removed from the originals). Then again, since these remixes aren't much different than the originals, they're ideal for the general customer who picks this up as an enhanced greatest-hits collection: they sound like the versions they remember from the radio, and the rest of Can't Slow Down sounds like it could have been a hit in the late '80s, appearing as the sequel to 1987's Inside Information. Hansen sounds uncannily like Gramm, to the point that any casual fan could mistake him for his predecessor, and the songs are good, tight arena rock, whether they're fist-pumping anthems like the title track and "Give Me a Sign" or power ballads like "When It Comes to Love" and "As Long as I Live." Nothing here is hip or will convert skeptics, but everything here will satisfy fans who have been waiting years for new music from Foreigner.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/29/2009
Label: Wea Int'l
UPC: 0081227984793
catalogNumber: 2798479
Rank: 87074

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Foreigner   Primary Artist
Mick Jones   Guitar,Keyboards,Background Vocals
Russ Irwin   Keyboards
Jason Bonham   Drums
Wyn Davis   Sounds
Marti Frederiksen   Guitar,Percussion,Keyboards,Background Vocals
Thom Gimbel   Guitar,Saxophone,Background Vocals
Kelly Hansen   Vocals,Background Vocals
Jeff Pilson   Bass,Background Vocals
Brian Tichy   Drums
Michael Leonhart   Trumpet
Victor Axelrod   Organ,Keyboards
Neal Sugarman   Tenor Saxophone
Michael Bluestein   Keyboards
Jason Paige   Background Vocals
Nick Movshon   Bass
Suzie McNeil   Background Vocals
Homer Steinweiss   Drums
Thomas Brenneck   Guitar
Lola Johnson   Background Vocals
Cynthia Langston   Background Vocals
Dave Guy   Trumpet

Technical Credits

Mick Jones   Composer,Producer
Russ Irwin   Composer
Marti Frederiksen   Composer,Producer,Engineer,Liner Notes,Remixing
Kelly Hansen   Composer
Oliver Leiber   Composer
Jeff Pilson   Audio Production
Cliff Driver & The Drivers   Vocal Arrangements
Steve McEwan   Composer
Vaughan Merrick   Engineer
Mark Ronson   Producer
Jason Paige   Engineer
Anthony Focx   Remixing
Thomas Brenneck   Engineer
Project X   Producer

Customer Reviews