Cafe Atlantico

Cafe Atlantico

by Cesária ÉvoraCesária Évora


$8.69 $16.99 Save 49% Current price is $8.69, Original price is $16.99. You Save 49%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


With the lush new CAFE ATLANTICO, Cape Verde's celebrated "barefoot diva" follows in the footsteps of stars like Edith Piaf and Gal Costa, women whose voices have transcended their cultures to become universal treasures. Although rooted in the melancholic morna that's become the trademark of her African archipelago home, Evora's latest is buoyed by brave new collaborations and reinterpretations. Jacques Morelenbaum, cellist and arranger for Caetano Veloso over the last decade, contributes characteristically billowing swells of strings and percussion around Evora on "Flor di nha Esperanca"; the festive "Carnaval de São Vicente" boasts a brassy Brazilian feel; and "Maria Elena," sung in Spanish, cannily enlists Cuban musicians for its stately danzón. But Evora's not chasing fads. While making her mark with the smoky, tragic morna, she's never shied away from more upbeat dance material, and the occasional effervescence of CAFE ATLANTICO remains in character. Indeed, when she stretches out completely, on the Spanish numbers and the orchestral ballad "Roma Criola," Evora proves herself the equal to internationalists like Piaf and Costa. But Evora's nostalgic, terse vocals neither soar nor electrify, they simply impart an ineffable, cosmic blues. The humble, late-night glow of CAFE ATLANTICO is welcome sight -- and sound -- amidst a sea of pop music bluster.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/10/1999
Label: Rca Victor
UPC: 0743216540129
catalogNumber: 65401
Rank: 58357

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Cesaria Evora   Primary Artist
Jaques Morelenbaum   Conductor
Carlos del Puerto   Double Bass
Tata Güines   Tumbadora
Teofilo Chantre   Background Vocals
Orlando "Maraca" Valle   Flute
Frank Emilio Flynn   Piano
Yumuri   Background Vocals
Bau   Guitar,12-string Guitar,Cavaquinho
Enrique Rodriguez   Trumpet
Toy Vieira   Background Vocals
Totinho   Percussion,Soprano Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone,Vocals
Juan Carlos Estrada   Background Vocals
Silvano Michelino   Bongos,Pandeiro
Jacinto Pereira   Background Vocals,Cavaquinho
Luis Ramos   Guitar,Background Vocals,Slide Guitar
José Paris   Acoustic Guitar,Background Vocals,Acoustic Bass
Nadine   Background Vocals
Nando Andrade   Piano,Background Vocals
Valerie Tribord   Background Vocals
Marie-Paule Tribord   Background Vocals
Tey Santos   Percussion
Elilio del Monte   Timbales
Zorimé Mercedez   Flute
Hugo Cruz   Violin
Mario Fernandez   Violin
Jacky Fourniret   Accordion
José Luis Dominguez   Violin
Julian Corrales   Violin
Ernesto Dias Vera   Violin
Valerie Belinga   Background Vocals
Lázaro Dagoberto González   Violin
Francisco Santiago   French Horn
Alejandro Rodriguez   Cello
Aramis   Background Vocals
Armandine   Background Vocals
Calu   Drums,Background Vocals
Augusto Carreras   Violin
Alioth Castillo   Violin
Arelis Copello   Cello
Roberto Dias   Violin
Conde Djeli Moussa   Kora
Ana Julia Feria   Violin
Fresi Garcia   Violin
Genardo Garcia   Violin
Andres Grana   Double Bass
Dania Gutierrez   Violin
Emilio Heredia   Trumpet
Leonel Hernandez   Violin
Gerardo Rafael Garcia Huerta   Violin
Gladis La Tamayo   Cello
Manuna   Background Vocals
Ariel Mendez   Violin
Segundo Mendoza   French Horn
Alberto Meneses   Trombone
Raymond Morales   Violin
Nedelise   Background Vocals
John Nobre   Background Vocals
Michel Padron   Trumpet
Antonio Peñalver   Bass Trombone
Daniel Peñalver   Flute
Omar Pereira   Violin
Ridel Rodriguez   Trombone
Julian Corrales Subida   Violin
Francisco Valdez   Double Bass
Raul Valdez   Flute
Manuel Garcia   Flute

Technical Credits

Jose Da Silva   Producer
Jaques Morelenbaum   Horn Arrangements,String Arrangements,Flute Arrangement
Bob Russell   Composer
Orlando "Maraca" Valle   Arranger
Bau   Arranger
Joao Magalhaes   Engineer
Lorenzo Barcelata   Composer
Angelo Spencer   Executive Producer
Nando Andrade   Arranger
Alfredo Penalver   Executive Producer
Lexter Fonseca Villan   Engineer
Lázaro Dagoberto González   String Arrangements
Pascal Catet   Engineer
Alain Martinez De La Crus   Engineer
Objectif Lune   Art Direction
Evelio Gay Salinas   Engineer
Julio Nápoles Sánchez   Engineer
Barbaro Torres   Laud

Customer Reviews