Cadillac Walk: The Mink DeVille Collection

Cadillac Walk: The Mink DeVille Collection

by Mink DeVilleMink DeVille


$10.92 $11.99 Save 9% Current price is $10.92, Original price is $11.99. You Save 9%.


This 22-track import collection of Mink DeVille tunes contains over two-thirds of the tracks cut by the original band -- before Louis X. Erlanger and crew left and Willy DeVille continued with different musicians -- and culled from Cabretta, Return to Magenta, and Le Chat Bleu. Issued in the E.U. and distributed by Caroline Records in the United States, this collection was produced and annotated brilliantly by former Creem editor and writer Ben Edmonds. It was issued for the first time in 2001, but has been digitally remastered in 24-bit audio and includes virtually every track any serious fan of Mink DeVille would want, from "Venus of Avenue D" and "Cadillac Walk" to "Spanish Stroll," "Mixed Up, Shook Up Girl" "'A' Train Lady," "Guardian Angel," and "Just to Walk That Little Girl Home." The band was fortunate enough to work with the late great Jack Nitzsche, Steve Douglas, and Doc Pomus. During the punk era, this was saying something. Mink DeVille may have played the punk clubs, and they had the attitude, but musically they were rooted in American traditional rock & roll, soul, and blues. This collection, now in stellar sound, is a testament to one of the greatest all-but-unsung legacies in rock history.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/03/2007
Label: Caroline
UPC: 0724353501624
catalogNumber: 35016


  1. Spanish Stroll
  2. Mixed up, Shook up Girl
  3. She's So Tough
  4. Cadillac Walk
  5. Gunslinger
  6. Venus of Avenue D
  7. Little Girl
  8. 'A' Train Lady
  9. Guardian Angel
  10. Confidence to Kill
  11. Soul Twist
  12. Desperate Days
  13. I Broke That Promise
  14. Just Your Friends
  15. You Just Keep Holding On
  16. This Must Be the Night
  17. Savoir Faire
  18. Mazurka
  19. Turn You Every Way But Loose
  20. Bad Boy
  21. Just to Walk That Little Girl Home
  22. That World Outside

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Mink DeVille   Primary Artist
Steve Douglas & the Rebel Rousers   Saxophone
Willy DeVille   Guitar,Harmonica,Vocals,Group Member
David Forman   Background Vocals
Eve Moon   Background Vocals
Jack Nitzsche   Celeste
Bees   Background Vocals
Max Bowman   Background Vocals
Louie Erlanger   Guitar,Group Member
Val Heron   Background Vocals
Jackie Kelso   Saxophone
Bobby Leonards   Keyboards,Group Member
Kenny Margolis   Accordion,Keyboards,Background Vocals
Jerry Scheff   Bass
Ron Tutt   Drums
Mike Johnson   Background Vocals
Immortals   Group
Cleon Douglas   Background Vocals
Jake Jacobs   Background Vocals
T.R. Allen Jr. "Manfred"   Drums,Group Member

Technical Credits

Steve Douglas & the Rebel Rousers   Producer
Willy DeVille   Producer
Jack Nitzsche   Arranger,Producer
Jean-Claude Petit   String Arrangements
Chris Coffin   Engineer
Ben Edmonds   Liner Notes
Gerry Gabinelli   Engineer
Mark Howlett   Engineer
Kim King   Engineer
J.D. Martin   Composer
Janet Grey   Art Direction
Peter Halm   Art Direction

Customer Reviews