Cab Calloway Stands in for the Moon

Cab Calloway Stands in for the Moon

by ConjureConjure


$15.95 $16.99 Save 6% Current price is $15.95, Original price is $16.99. You Save 6%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Kip Hanrahan gathers another all-star avant- jazz-funk band to accompany texts by satirist and social critic Ishmael Reed. The results aren't as bookishly dull or consciously experimental as the project sounds. Allen Touissaint, Olu Dara, David Murray, Leo Nocentelli, Eddie Harris, Don Pullen, Robbie Ameen, and Steve Swallow stir up lively, complex grooves that perfectly compliment Reed's evocative poetry. Intellectual dance music with ridiculous jazz chops isn't a genre for everyone, but for those who enjoy thinking about the funk as much as they love grooving to it, this album is highly recommended.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/05/2005
Label: American Clave
UPC: 0753607101525
catalogNumber: 1015
Rank: 117188

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Conjure   Primary Artist,Group
Bobby Womack   Vocals
Hamiet Bluiett   Baritone Saxophone
Eddie Harris   Tenor Saxophone,Vocals,Group Member
Don Pullen   Organ,Vocals,Group Member
Ishmael Reed   Vocals,Speech/Speaker/Speaking Part
Steve Swallow   Electric Bass
Grayson Hugh   Vocals
Milton Cardona   Conga
Olu Dara   Harmonica,Trumpet,Vocals,Group Member
David Murray   Tenor Saxophone,Vocals
Diahnne Abbott   Vocals
Robby Ameen   Drums,Group Member
Frisner Augustin   Conga
Clare Bathe   Vocals
Ignacio Berroa   Drums
Leo Nocentelli   Electric Guitar,Group Member
Lenny Pickett   Tenor Saxophone
Elysee Pyronneau   Electric Guitar
Fernando Saunders   Electric Bass,Vocals
Allen Toussaint   Piano,Group Member
Robert Jason   Vocals
Carman Moore   Conductor,Guest Appearance
Johnny Watkins   Electric Guitar

Technical Credits

Kip Hanrahan   Producer,Author
Ishmael Reed   Lyricist
Steve Swallow   Contributor
Conley Abrams   Engineer
Ignacio Berroa   Contributor
Jon Fausty   Engineer
Howard Johnston   Engineer
Roger Moutenot   Engineer
Don Palmer   Liner Notes
Scott Marcus   Executive Producer
Ritchard Rodriguez   Artwork

Customer Reviews