Buy Our Intention; We'll Buy You a Unicorn

Buy Our Intention; We'll Buy You a Unicorn

by KaddisflyKaddisfly


$14.97 $15.99 Save 6% Current price is $14.97, Original price is $15.99. You Save 6%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Kaddisfly issued two self-released EPs and one LP before they signed with Hopeless Records and turned out this nicely crafted and beautifully produced album. Buy Our Intention; We'll Buy You a Unicorn doesn't do itself any favors by sporting one of the more pretentious album titles of the year, and song titles like "Eres Tremulent" and "For the Ejection of Rest; They'll Dance" don't do much to ease the misgivings that any sensible person will have when looking over the package. But the music is a pleasant surprise -- emotional without being too bombastic, guitar-heavy and aggressive without ever quite tipping over into punkiness, Kaddisfly's sound will probably be categorized by the lazy as emo, but there's quite a bit more to it than that. "For the Ejection of Rest" flirts with dub, while "Osmosis in C" is unapologetically jazzy; other tracks contain strong hints of a math rock inclination amongst the guitarists. The album's final number, a ten-and-a-half-minute long epic titled "Horses Galloping on Sailboats," feels like self-indulgent filler, but everything else succeeds at being simultaneously fun, smart and interesting.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/08/2005
Label: Hopeless Records
UPC: 0790692067626
catalogNumber: 676
Rank: 191760

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Kaddisfly   Primary Artist,Dumbek,Chimes,Glockenspiel,Gong,Hammond Organ,Tambourine,Triangle,Voices,Zither,Melodica,Kalimba,Bells,Classical Guitar,Djembe,Korg,cowbell,E-bow,fender rhodes,Singing Bowls,Egg Shaker,Wind Chimes,Glass
Christopher Ruff   Piano,Vocals
Beau Kuther   Percussion,Drums
Kelsey Kuther   Guitar,Percussion,Slide Guitar
Aaron William Tollefson   Guitar,Mandolin
Kile Micheal Brewer   Bass Guitar

Technical Credits

Kaddisfly   Composer,Programming,Sound Effects,Hands
Enoch Jensen   Audio Production
Christopher Ruff   Composer
Aaron Tollefson   Composer
Ryan Case   Artwork

Customer Reviews