Burn Down the Sky

Burn Down the Sky

by James Jaros

NOOK Book(eBook)

$3.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Overview

Burn Down the Sky is an intense, amazing, post-apocalyptic tale of unleashed terror and undying hope. This is gifted writing and a superb, brilliant thriller.”
New York Times bestselling author Bill Evans,

Children of Men meets The Handmaid’s Tale—with The Road Warrior to rev up the high octane plot.”
—Mark Feldstein, author of Poisoning the Press

Jim Jaros transports readers to a terrifying, post-apocalyptic near-future world in Burn Down the Sky, a breathtaking thriller unfolding against a landscape of climate collapse and environmental catastrophe. Pseudonymously written by multiple Emmy and Edgar® Award-winning investigative journalist and author Mark Nykanen, Burn Down the Sky brilliantly imagines a nightmarish tomorrow where a runaway virus has killed most of the Earth’s population. Jaros electrifies with a fast-paced adventure tale of a desperate mother determined to free her captive child from the clutches of a dark and twisted religious cult. Fans of Stephen King’s The Stand and Justin Cronin’s The Passage will not want to miss this one.



Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062079206
Publisher: HarperCollins e-books
Publication date: 04/26/2011
Sold by: HARPERCOLLINS
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 336
File size: 1 MB

About the Author

James Jaros is the pen name of the widely praised thriller author Mark Nykanen, the four-time Emmy winning investigative reporter whose internationally best-selling books have been praised by critics as "irresistible," "vivid and emotional," "nerve-wracking," and "furiously paced." Europe's largest newspaper hailed him as "The new master of the psycho-sexual thriller" for his dark psychological tales. Now, as James Jaros, he sweeps readers into a post-apocalyptic world as real as it is horrifying.

Jaros blogs at "Postings from the Post-Apocalypse."

What People are Saying About This

Marcus Pelegrimas

“Jaros has crafted such a vividly ravaged world that I could almost feel the grit on my fingers as I turned each page. And I couldn’t stop turning them!”

Amanda Makepeace

“BURN DOWN THE SKY is one of those books I could not stop reading...Thinking about it, even now, makes my heart pound.”

Mark Feldstein

“This gripping tale immediately ushers us into an all-too-plausible post apocalyptic world. It’s Children of Men meets The Handmaid’s Tale - with The Road Warrior to rev up the high octane plot.”

Bruce Grossman

“Takes the idea of the post-apocalyptic men’s adventure tale and turns it on its head, with the simple idea that it focuses on female leads...Jaros’s characters are not two-dimensional stereotypes or caricatures...With truly stand-out moments, BURN DOWN THE SKY never falters.”

Suzanne Johnson

“Utterly compelling...The language is powerful and evocative, and it moves at a rapid clip start to finish. I give Burn Down the Sky a big thumb’s-up.”

Harriet Klausner

“This grim fascinating futuristic thriller extrapolates present global trends to make a case that the reckoning point of no return for planet earth is soon...readers will appreciate James Jaros’ bleak cautionary tale as Sager and Evans sang in 2525, “...Now man’s reign is through.”

Bill Evans

“BURN DOWN THE SKY is an intense, amazing, post-apocalyptic tale of unleashed terror and undying hope. This is gifted writing, and a superb, brilliant thriller.”

Angela Wilson

“Writing as James Jaros, Mark Nykanen tells a thoroughly engrossing tale...The author has incredibly poetic prose that keeps the reader going.”

Customer Reviews