Bunk's Brass Band and Dance Band 1945

Bunk's Brass Band and Dance Band 1945

by Bunk JohnsonBunk Johnson


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, August 4


This CD starts off with a potentially very interesting session, the first-ever recording of a New Orleans brass band. Bunk Johnson heads a group consisting of two trumpeters (the other is Kid Shots Madison), trombonist Jim Robinson, George Lewis on the eerie E flat clarinet, Isidore Barbarin on alto horn, the baritone horn of Adolphe Alexander, Joe Clark on bass horn, Baby Dodds on snare drum, and Lawrence Marrero on bass drum. Unfortunately, the band (particularly Lewis) is generally out of tune, which -- despite the power and sincerity of the music -- reduces the effectiveness of the recording. The second half of the disc has more conventional performances by Bunk, Lewis, and Robinson in a spirited New Orleans jazz sextet, playing numbers such as "Runnin' Wild," "Kentucky Home," and "The Sheik of Araby."

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 04/07/1994
Label: Ghb Jazz Foundation
UPC: 0762247100621
catalogNumber: 6
Rank: 86298


  1. Gloryland
  2. Just a Little While to Stay
  3. Just a Closer Walk with Thee
  4. Didn't He Ramble
  5. Tell Me Your Dream
  6. My Maryland
  7. St. Louis Blues
  8. Bye & Bye
  9. Nearer My God to Thee
  10. When the Saints Go Marching In
  11. Happy Birthday
  12. Runnin' Wild
  13. Margie
  14. Lonesome Road
  15. Swanee River
  16. Kentucky Home
  17. Milneburg Joys
  18. 827 Blues
  19. All the Whores
  20. The Sheik of Araby

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Bunk Johnson   Primary Artist,Trumpet
George Lewis   Clarinet
Jim Robinson   Trombone
Baby Dodds   Drums,Snare Drums
Joe Clark   Bass Horn
Laurence Marrero   Banjo,Bass Drums
Alcide Pavageau   Upright Bass
Adolphe Alexander   Baritone Horn
Louis "Kid Shots" Madison   Trumpet

Technical Credits

W.C. Handy   Composer
Con Conrad   Composer
Barry Martyn   Producer
Harry Beasley Smith   Composer
Ted Snyder   Composer
George H. Buck   Liner Notes
J. Russel Robinson   Composer
Benny Davis   Composer
Francis Wheeler   Composer
Alden Ashforth   Sound Concepts
Traditional   Composer

Customer Reviews