Bunk Johnson 1944-1945

Bunk Johnson 1944-1945

by Bunk JohnsonBunk Johnson


$14.48 $14.99 Save 3% Current price is $14.48, Original price is $14.99. You Save 3%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, August 5


This CD, which does not duplicate any of the performances out on other American Music releases, has some of the selections that trumpeter Bunk Johnson and his sextet recorded during five sessions in August and May of 1944 and May of 1945. In general, Bunk, who could be quite erratic, was better than his group (clarinetist George Lewis, trombonist Jim Robinson, banjoist Lawrence Marrero, bassist Alcide Pavageau and drummer Baby Dodds) and one can understand his impatience with the players. Lewis is not always in-tune, and Dodds' colorful playing can be distracting. However, the band's joyful ensembles are quite appealing and this melodic music will be difficult for New Orleans revival fans to resist. Among the hotter numbers (which include two vocals by Ed "Noon" Johnson and one from Myrtle Jones) are "Milneberg Joys," "Shine," "Lady Be Good," "The Sheik of Araby" and "Willie the Weeper."

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 08/26/1994
Label: Ghb Jazz Foundation
UPC: 0762247101222
catalogNumber: 12
Rank: 129501


  1. Milneberg Joys
  2. Snag It
  3. Old Grey Bonnet
  4. You Are My Sunshine
  5. Shine
  6. Noon's Blues
  7. The Cat's Got Kittens
  8. Ole Miss
  9. Oh, Lady Be Good
  10. Precious Lord
  11. Sister Kate
  12. Blues in C
  13. Alabama Bound
  14. The Sheik of Araby
  15. Ballin the Jack
  16. Willie the Weeper
  17. Long Blues
  18. Darktown Strutters' Ball

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Bunk Johnson   Primary Artist,Trumpet
George Lewis   Clarinet
Jim Robinson   Trombone
Sidney Brown   Bass
Baby Dodds   Drums
Laurence Marrero   Banjo
Myrtle Jones   Vocals

Technical Credits

George Gershwin   Composer
Jimmie Davis   Composer
King Oliver   Composer
Marty Bloom   Composer
Ira Gershwin   Composer
Barry Martyn   Producer
Charles Mitchell   Composer
Harry Beasley Smith   Composer
Ted Snyder   Composer
George H. Buck   Liner Notes
Walter Melrose   Composer
Francis Wheeler   Composer
Grant Rymal   Composer

Customer Reviews