Bryter Layter

Bryter Layter

by Nick DrakeNick Drake


$9.47 $12.99 Save 27% Current price is $9.47, Original price is $12.99. You Save 27%.
View All Available Formats & Editions


With even more of the Fairport Convention crew helping him out -- including bassist Dave Pegg and drummer Dave Mattacks along with, again, a bit of help from Richard Thompson -- as well as John Cale and a variety of others, Drake tackled another excellent selection of songs on his second album. Demonstrating the abilities shown on Five Leaves Left didn't consist of a fluke, Bryter Layter featured another set of exquisitely arranged and performed tunes, with producer Joe Boyd and orchestrator Robert Kirby reprising their roles from the earlier release. Starting with the elegant instrumental "Introduction," as lovely a mood-setting piece as one would want, Bryter Layter indulges in a more playful sound at many points, showing that Drake was far from being a constant king of depression. While his performances remain generally low-key and his voice quietly passionate, the arrangements and surrounding musicians add a considerable amount of pep, as on the jazzy groove of the lengthy "Poor Boy." The argument could be made that this contravenes the spirit of Drake's work, but it feels more like a calmer equivalent to the genre-sliding experiments of Van Morrison at around the same time. Numbers that retain a softer approach, like "At the Chime of a City Clock," still possess a gentle drive to them. Cale's additions unsurprisingly favor the classically trained side of his personality, with particularly brilliant results on "Northern Sky." As his performances on keyboards and celeste help set the atmosphere, Drake reaches for a perfectly artful reflection on loss and loneliness and succeeds wonderfully.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/06/2003
Label: Fontana Island
UPC: 0042284600521
catalogNumber: 846005

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Nick Drake   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Piano,Vocals
John Cale   Organ,Piano,Celeste,Cello,Harpsichord,Viola
Richard Thompson   Guitar
Chris McGregor   Piano,Vocals
Lyn Dobson   Flute
Dave Pegg   Bass
Doris Troy   Vocals,Background Vocals
P.P. Arnold   Vocals,Background Vocals
Patrick Arnold   Background Vocals
Paul Harris   Piano
Mike Kowalski   Drums
Dave Mattacks   Drums
Ray Warleigh   Flute,Alto Saxophone
Ed Carter   Bass

Technical Credits

John Wood   Engineer
Joe Boyd   Producer,Reissue Producer
Robert Kirby   Arranger,String Arrangements,Brass Arrangment,Bass Arrangement
Nigel Waymouth   Cover Design,Cover Photo,Sleeve Design
Cally   Art Direction
Stella MacPherson   Lyric Transcription

Customer Reviews