by BoyzoneBoyzone


$15.19 $15.99 Save 5% Current price is $15.19, Original price is $15.99. You Save 5%.


Following in the footsteps of rival boy band Take That, Boyzone reunited during the late 2000s and made plans for a comeback album that would eventually be released as Brother. However, the death of bandmember Stephen Gately in 2009 seriously put into question whether or not this comeback album would ever see the light of day. Fortunately for those Boyzone fans eager to hear how the now-grown-up Irish boy band might sound after all these years, the remaining four bandmembers followed through with their plans and finished Brother, a safe and carefully crafted album dedicated to Gately (i.e., their fallen brother) that includes his vocals on two songs ("Gave It All Away," "Stronger") and addresses him on another ("One More Song"). While Brother is far more adult-oriented than Boyzone's first three albums, Said and Done (1995), A Different Beat (1996), and Where We Belong (1998), it's not too much of a departure in any other respect, which should delight fans eager for more material. To no one's surprise, it's a ballad-heavy effort with lots of piano melodies, string arrangements, and grandiose choruses. As is customary, Ronan Keating takes many of the album's lead vocals. One difference between Brother and Boyzone albums of the past is the absence of cover material. A long list of industry professionals are credited with writing the songs, the most notable of them pop superstar Mika, who penned the album-opening lead single, "Gave It All Away." It's a good song with glimmers of greatness, in particular the first minute of the song, where Gately is hauntingly heard singing "I will learn to live before I die" over an eerie backward-tracked string arrangement. Most impressive is the second track on the album, "Love Is a Hurricane," a showcase for Keating that marks the high point of Brother. Other standout tracks include the Mikey Graham showcase "Ruby" and "Right Here Waiting," an uplifting song of hope that follows the mid-album Gately tribute "One More Song."

Product Details

Release Date: 03/08/2010
Label: Polydor Uk
UPC: 0602527336091
catalogNumber: 2733609


  1. Gave It All Away
  2. Love Is a Hurricane
  3. Ruby
  4. Too Late for Hallelujah
  5. Separate Cars
  6. One More Song
  7. Right Here
  8. Nothing Without You
  9. 'Til the Sun Goes Down
  10. Time
  11. Let Your Wall Fall Down
  12. Stronger

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Boyzone   Primary Artist
Greg Wells   Bass,Guitar,Piano,Drums
Craig Wiseman   Guitar
Andy Caine   Vocals
Ash Soan   Drums
Stephen Lipson   Guitar

Technical Credits

Gregg Alexander   Composer
Chris Braide   Composer
Andy Hill   Composer
Sharon Vaughn   Composer
Greg Wells   Composer,Producer
Craig Wiseman   Composer
Tom Shapiro   Composer
Danielle Brisebois   Composer
Terry Martin   Composer
Ollie Jacobs   Vocal Producer
Mike Busbee   Composer
Mark Plunkett   Management
Karen Ann Poole   Composer
Julian Emery   Composer
Louis Walsh   Management
Simon Emmett   Cover Photo
Rob Wells   Programming
Ian MacGregor   Engineer
Catt Gravitt   Composer
Matt Hales   Composer
Don Mescall   Composer
Shelly Poole   Composer
Jack McManus   Composer
Emma Rohan   Composer
Jim Irvin   Composer
Carl Falk   Composer
Mark "Tufty" Evans   Engineer
Stephen Lipson   Composer,Producer,Instrumentation
Karen Poole   Composer
Jez Ashurst   Composer
Sarah Bridson   grooming
Kim Oliver   Composer
Peter-John Vetesse   Composer,Engineer,Choir Arrangement
Sean Conlan   Composer
Chris Nicoladies   drum programming
Avril Mackintosh   Pro-Tools

Customer Reviews