Brooklyn Bridge

Brooklyn Bridge

by Casey NeillCasey Neill


$16.73 $17.99 Save 7% Current price is $16.73, Original price is $17.99. You Save 7%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


The title cut of Casey Neill's Brooklyn Bridge has a lazy, romantic quality, highlighted by Neill's gruff vocal and the commingling of Wurlitzer (sounding like an electric piano) and steel guitar. He's joined briefly by Erin McKeown, who underpins his vocals here and there, and adds echoing asides to the chorus. "Brooklyn Bridge" has the same expansive quality as Sandy Denny's early-'70s work, and a similar ability to build effective arrangements. The follow-up, "We Are the City," rocks harder, while "The Holy Land" captures an upbeat Celtic cadence buttressed by accordion and whistle. The production smoothes the kinks out of Neill's gruff vocals for "Once Upon a Time," adding a quirky pop quality to the song's folk base. Thanks to these shifts between straight folk, Celtic, folk-pop, and rock, Brooklyn Bridge never falls into dull routine, making it much more engaging than the run-of-the-mill singer/songwriter product. Neill is aided in his efforts by a long list of friends/musicians. John Wesley Harding adds his vocals to the easy folk of "Once Upon a Time," while Nancy Hess helps out on the gentle "Beautiful Night." Brooklyn Bridge ends much as it began, with McKeown joining Neil for the unhurried "Colville Blues," an apt closer for a satisfying album.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/08/2007
Label: In Music We Trust
UPC: 0678277143623
catalogNumber: 31
Rank: 165432

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Casey Neill   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Vocals,Acoustic Bass
John Wesley Harding   Vocals
Eric Ambel   Electric Guitar
Johnny Cunningham   Fiddle
Nova Devonie   Accordion
Nancy Hess   Bass,Vocals
Joe Trump   Percussion
Mark Pucci   Upright Bass
Derek Brown   Drums
Erin McKeown   Vocals
Paul Brainard   Pedal Steel Guitar
Zak Borden   Mandolin,Vocals
Hanz Araki   Flute,Vocals,Low Whistle
Ezra Holbrook   Drums
Chris Funk   Banjo
Jesse Emerson   Bass
Danny O'Hanlon   Electric Bass
Lewi Longmire   Electric Guitar,Wurlitzer

Technical Credits

Johnny Cunningham   Producer
Nancy Hess   Programming,Producer,Engineer
Rob Pemberton   Engineer
Casey Neill   Composer,Producer
Meagan Geer   Artwork
Daniel Littleton   Composer

Customer Reviews