Brian Wilson [Expanded Edition]

Brian Wilson [Expanded Edition]

by Brian WilsonBrian Wilson


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, June 23


Upon its 1988 release, Brian Wilson's much-anticipated solo comeback -- recorded under the influence of his controversial psychiatrist/manager/collaborator Eugene Landy -- was greeted with a mix of adoration and disappointment. In retrospect, it's a flawed but frequently engaging mix of sometimes trite lyrics, dated-sounding synths, and some genuinely affecting moments of profound emotional truth. A dozen years down the line from its original overhyped release, the compositional ingenuity and lyrical sentiments of "Love and Mercy" and "Melt Away" still ring true. A scarred but still capable artist, Wilson retained the ability to communicate profound emotional truths even within a less-than-optimum context. Rhino's new expanded edition of Brian Wilson adds 14 tracks' worth of non-album songs, demos, and alternate versions.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/05/2000
Label: Rhino
UPC: 0081227996024
catalogNumber: 79960
Rank: 143768


  1. Love and Mercy
  2. Walkin' the Line
  3. Melt Away
  4. Baby Let Your Hair Grow Long
  5. Little Children
  6. One for the Boys
  7. There's So Many
  8. Night Time
  9. Let It Shine
  10. Meet Me in My Dreams Tonight
  11. Rio Grande
  12. Brian on "Love and Mercy"
  13. He Couldn't Get His Poor Old Body to Move
  14. Being With the One You Love
  15. Let's Go to Heaven in My Car
  16. Too Much Sugar
  17. There's So Many
  18. Walkin' the Line
  19. Melt Away
  20. Night Time
  21. Little Children
  22. Night Blooming Jasmine
  23. Rio Grande
  24. Brian On "Rio Grande"
  25. Brian On "The Source"
  26. [Untitled Track]

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Brian Wilson   Primary Artist,Organ,Percussion,Piano,Chimes,Glockenspiel,Keyboards,Vocals,Background Vocals,Bells,Emulator,Vibes
Christopher Cross   Background Vocals,Voices
Jeff Lynne   Bass,Guitar,Keyboards,6-string bass
Rob Mounsey   Guitar,Piano,Synthesizer Guitar,Emulator,EMU
Elliot Easton   Guitar
Michael Andreas   Flute,Saxophone
Michael Bernard   Percussion,Drums,Keyboards
Stewart Blumberg   Trumpet
Jeff Bova   Keyboards
Jimmy Bralower   Shaker
Lance Buller   Trumpet
Terence Trent D'Arby   Background Vocals,Voices
Andy Dean   Percussion,Keyboards,Bells,Vibes
Tris Imboden   Cymbals,Drums,Hi Hat
Hyman Katz   Flute,Piccolo
Harry Kim   Trumpet
Steve Lindsey   Keyboards
Jay Migliori   Baritone Saxophone
Andy Paley   Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Harmonica,Percussion,Drums,Bass Guitar,Electric Guitar,Keyboards,Background Vocals,Voices
Dean Parks   Guitar
Philippe Saisse   Keyboards
Russ Titelman   Background Vocals,Voices
Carol Steele   Percussion
Todd Herreman   Synthesizer,fairlight
Frank Morrocco   Accordion
Baystate Bluegrass Band   Acoustic Guitar,Banjo,Bass,Mandolin
Robbie Condor   Keyboards
Eugene E. Landy   Background Vocals
Tony Salvage   Violin,Saw
Larry Williams   Horn,Keyboards,Saxophone

Technical Credits

Gary Stewart   Producer
Lindsey Buckingham   Producer
Jeff Lynne   Producer
Brian Wilson   Arranger,Sound Effects,Producer
Josh Abbey   Engineer
Michael Bernard   Programming,Sound Effects
Bill Bottrell   Engineer
Jeff Bova   Programming
Jimmy Bralower   Programming,drum programming
Andy Dean   Programming
Wayne Erwin   Remixing
Brad Gilderman   Engineer,Remixing
Robbie Kilgore   Programming
Steve Lindsey   Programming
Mark Linett   Producer,Engineer,Remixing
Andy Paley   Producer
Bob Riley   drum machine
Philippe Saisse   Programming
Russ Titelman   Producer
Gary Usher   Producer
Lenny Waronker   Producer
David Leaf   Producer,Liner Notes
Robbie Condor   Programming
Kevin S. Leslie   Contributor
Rachel Gutek   Art Direction
Jeri Heiden   Art Direction
Ron Klohs   Engineer
Jim Linkner   Engineer
Larry Williams   Programming

Customer Reviews