Breaks It Down

Breaks It Down

by Shawn AmosShawn Amos


$15.13 $15.99 Save 5% Current price is $15.13, Original price is $15.99. You Save 5%.


The Reverend Shawn Amos designed his 2018 album, Breaks It Down, as a collection of "21st century freedom songs," a self-description that underscores that this is a modern-day protest record. Certainly, Breaks It Down teems with songs of pained passion and pleas for togetherness (there's also a cover of David Bowie's "The Jean Genie," which doesn't quite seem to fit the concept, even if it does touch upon other cultural Zeitgeists of the mid-2010s). Amos doesn't keep his blues vocabulary limited, frequently returning to a leathery soul but also finding space for the sparse "Uncle Tom's Prayer," the charged Delta blues of "Does My Life Matter," and the blues gospel of "Moved." He often returns to the church, even casting Nick Lowe's standard "(What's So Funny 'Bout) Peace, Love, and Understanding" as a hymn, but that suits the openhearted, communal vibe of the album: in a time of chaos, the Reverend Shawn Amos is searching for ways to unite us. By casting his musical net wide and writing specific songs, he succeeds with Breaks It Down, since both the tunes and the vibe make it clear he's aiming for empathy, not alienation.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/18/2020
Label: Put Together Music
UPC: 0040201983979
catalogNumber: 7

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Shawn Amos   Primary Artist,Harmonica,Noise
Larry Taylor   Bass
Peter Adams   Keyboards
Alex Al   Bass
Charles Hodges   Keyboards
Leroy Hodges   Bass
Bill Pitman   Vocals
Harold Thomas   Vocals
Michael Toles   Guitar
Robert Tex Wrightsil   Vocals
Kenya Hathaway   Vocals
Sharlotte Gibson   Vocals
James Saez   Guitar,Percussion,Drums,Electric Guitar,Guitar (Resonator)
Rod Bland   Drums
Steve Jordan   Drums
Joe Santa Maria   Baritone Saxophone
Steve Potts   Drums
Mike Smirnoff   Drums
Vikram Devasthali   Trombone
Chris "Doctor" Roberts   Guitar,Vocals
Hannah Dexter   Bass,Vocals,Upright Bass
Lester Lands   Vocals
Philemon Young   Vocals

Technical Credits

David Bowie   Composer
John Gifford   Engineer
Nick Lowe   Composer
James Saez   Producer,Engineer
Shawn Amos   Composer,Producer
Kevin Houston   Engineer
Traditional   Composer
Booker T. Washington   Composer
Vikram Devasthali   Horn Arrangements
Chris Roberts   Composer
Roy McClurg   Executive Producer
Chris Anderson   String Arrangements
Ralph Calhoun   Engineer

Customer Reviews