Brass Shout/The Aztec Suite

Brass Shout/The Aztec Suite

by Art Farmer and His OrchestraArt Farmer and His Orchestra

CD(Remastered / Spanish Import)

$11.39 $11.99 Save 5% Current price is $11.39, Original price is $11.99. You Save 5%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


This Gambit CD compilation combines the complete contents of two long unavailable records that Art Farmer made for United Artists. The first seven tracks come from Brass Shout, a very enjoyable collaboration with his Jazztet partner Benny Golson, who also wrote all of the arrangements for this date. The all-star cast of sidemen include trombonists Curtis Fuller and Jimmy Cleveland, plus trumpeters Lee Morgan and Ernie Royal. Golson's own "Five Spot After Dark" is an obvious highlight, as are his treatments of "Nica's Dream" and "Moanin'." Farmer, who had not yet made the switch from trumpet to flugelhorn, is in top form throughout the date. Unfortunately, The Aztec Suite hasn't aged as well. Half of the original album was devoted to the extended title cut, composed by Chico O'Farrill and in spite of the laudatory liner notes, this piece has not stood the test of time. Production problems plague the remaining tracks, with excessive Latin percussion and unexpected fades, along with insufficient space for Farmer to solo. While this latter session is disappointing, the chance for Art Farmer fans to pick up Brass Shout along with The Aztec Suite for one price will likely prove irresistible.

Product Details

Release Date: 12/26/2006
Label: Gambit Spain
UPC: 8436028692545
catalogNumber: 69254
Rank: 78241

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Art Farmer and His Orchestra   Primary Artist,Track Performer
Jimmy Cleveland   Trombone
Art Farmer   Trumpet,Leader
Curtis Fuller   Trombone
Elvin Jones   Drums
Hank Jones   Piano
Philly Joe Jones   Drums
Lee Morgan   Trumpet
Bobby Timmons   Piano
Julius Watkins   Flugelhorn,French Horn
Seldon Powell   Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Frank Rehak   Trombone
Ernie Royal   Trumpet
Nick Travis   Trumpet
Willie Rodriguez   Percussion,Latin Percussion
Percy Heath   Bass
Cohn   Conductor
Wayne Andre   Trombone
James Buffington   Flugelhorn,French Horn
Don Butterfield   Tuba
Addison Farmer   Bass
Joe Ferrante   Trumpet
Bernie Glow   Trumpet
Benny Golson   Conductor
James Haughton   Baritone Horn
Tommy Lopez   Percussion,Latin Percussion
Jose Mangual   Percussion,Latin Percussion
Irvin "Marky" Markowitz   Trumpet
Jay McAllister   Tuba
Tony Miranda   Flugelhorn,French Horn
Robert Northern   Flugelhorn,French Horn
Charlie Persip   Drums
Sol Schlinger   Saxophone,Baritone Saxophone
Spencer Sinatra   Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Tommy Mitchell   Trombone
Zoot Sims & His Five Brothers   Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Art Farmer Tentet   Track Performer
Hank Jones Great Jazz Trio   Piano

Technical Credits

Irving Berlin   Composer
Bob Brookmeyer   Liner Notes
Art Farmer   Liner Notes
Dizzy Gillespie   Composer
Horace Silver   Composer
Bobby Timmons   Composer
Cohn   Director
Michael Cuscuna   Producer
Benny Golson   Arranger,Composer
E.Y. "Yip" Harburg   Composer
Barney Keville   Engineer
Jack Lewis   Producer,Liner Notes
Chico O'Farrill   Arranger,Composer
Jacques Prévert   Composer
Ned Washington   Composer
Tom Wilson   Producer
Victor Young   Composer
Patrick Roques   Reissue Design
Eliseo Grenet   Composer
Lewis Merritt   Engineer
Benny Goldon   Composer
Blanchard King   Liner Notes

Customer Reviews