by Goo Goo DollsGoo Goo Dolls


$14.77 $14.99 Save 1% Current price is $14.77, Original price is $14.99. You Save 1%.


The album art for Boxes, the 11th album by the Goo Goo Dolls and the first since drummer Mike Malinin left the band, suggests a ceaseless expansion of cardboard portals into the universe -- a heady metaphor for a record that finds the group boring into mundane earthly concerns. As part of this embrace of the present, the Goo Goo Dolls -- now merely a duo of John Rzeznik and Robby Takac -- unapologetically embrace their middle age, excising any remaining hints of the raucous rock band of yore and splitting their time between power ballads and insistent anthems. Hints of "Iris" and its aftermath are heard throughout but Rzeznik and Takac do pay attention to modern music, threading in portions of the gated hip-hop rhythms of Twenty One Pilots on occasion. Elsewhere, they have a tough time shaking remnants of the cavernous rallying calls of Mumford & Sons -- it's an affectation left over from 2013's Magnetic and feels past its sell-by date here -- but that only underscores how the Goo Goo Dolls have turned from energy and songs toward an enveloping mood. And, in that sense, the pseudo-new age art winds up fitting the album: this is a record that attempts to unfold but remains grounded within its own humble limitations.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/06/2016
Label: Warner Records
UPC: 0093624921233
catalogNumber: 553888


  1. Over and Over
  2. Souls in the Machine
  3. Flood
  4. The Pin
  5. Boxes
  6. Free of Me
  7. Reverse
  8. Lucky One
  9. So Alive
  10. Prayer in My Pocket
  11. Long Way Home

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Goo Goo Dolls   Primary Artist
Shawn Pelton   Drums
Robby Takac   Bass,Guitar,Bass Guitar,Vocals
Gregg Wattenberg   Guitar,Background Vocals
Craig MacIntyre   Percussion,Drums
Katie Weissman   Cello
Derek Fuhrmann   Guitar,Piano,Background Vocals
John Alicastro   Background Vocals
John Rzeznik   Guitar,Vocals,Background Vocals
Drew Pearson   Keyboards
Gunnar Olsen   Guitar,Drums
Brad Fernquist   Guitar
Kit Walters   Background Vocals
Jordan Miller   Background Vocals
Clare Fisher   Strings,Violin
Michael Lauri   Background Vocals
Kiersten Fisher   Viola
Gretchen Fisher   Strings,Violin
Mike Adubato   Piano,Keyboards
Kim Kat   Background Vocals
Rachel Kanner   Background Vocals
Yazz Alali   Background Vocals
Mark Neisser   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Robby Takac   Composer,Programming
Kevin Estrada   Engineer
Gregg Wattenberg   Composer,Programming,Producer
Craig MacIntyre   Composer
Derek Fuhrmann   Composer,Programming,Producer
John Rzeznik   Composer
Drew Pearson   Composer,Producer,Engineer
Brad Fernquist   Composer
Justin Rose   Producer,Engineer
Jordan Miller   Composer
Richie English   String Arrangements
Jarrad Kritzstein   Composer
Jeffery David   Vocal Producer
Mike Adubato   Programming,Engineer

Customer Reviews