Born Under A Bad Sign [Stax Remasters]

Born Under A Bad Sign [Stax Remasters]

by Albert KingAlbert King


View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Albert King recorded a lot in the early '60s, including some classic sides, but they never quite hit the mark. They never gained a large audience, nor did they really capture the ferocity of his single-string leads. Then he signed with Stax in 1966 and recorded a number of sessions with the house band, Booker T. & the MG's, and everything just clicked. The MG's gave King supple Southern support, providing an excellent contrast to his tightly wound lead guitar, allowing to him to unleash a torrent of blistering guitar runs that were profoundly influential, not just in blues, but in rock & roll (witness Eric Clapton's unabashed copping of King throughout Cream's Disraeli Gears). Initially, these sessions were just released as singles, but they were soon compiled as King's Stax debut, Born Under a Bad Sign. Certainly, the concentration of singles gives the album a consistency -- these were songs devised to get attention -- but, years later, it's astounding how strong this catalog of songs is: "Born Under a Bad Sign," "Crosscut Saw," "Oh Pretty Woman," "The Hunter," "Personal Manager," and "Laundromat Blues" form the very foundation of Albert King's musical identity and legacy. Few blues albums are this on a cut-by-cut level; the songs are exceptional and the performances are rich, from King's dynamic playing to the Southern funk of the MG's. It was immediately influential at the time and, over the years, it has only grown in stature as one of the very greatest electric blues albums of all time. [A 2013 Stax Remsatered version added three bonus tracks.]

Product Details

Release Date: 04/02/2013
Label: Fantasy
UPC: 0888072343344
catalogNumber: 34334
Rank: 7249

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Albert King   Primary Artist,Guitar,Vocals
Steve Cropper   Guitar
Memphis Horns   Horn Section
Joe Arnold   Horn,Group Member
Donald "Duck" Dunn   Guitar
Isaac Hayes   Piano
Wayne Jackson   Horn,Group Member
Booker T. Jones   Piano
Andrew Love   Horn,Group Member
Al Jackson   Drums

Technical Credits

Ivory Joe Hunter   Composer
Steve Cropper   Composer
Ray Noble   Composer
Jerry Leiber   Composer
Albert King   Composer
Deadric Malone   Composer
Deanie Parker   Original Liner Notes
Bill Dahl   Liner Notes
Michael Point   Reissue Liner Notes
Chris Clough   Reissue Producer
R.G. Ford   Composer
Sandy Jones   Composer

Customer Reviews