Born to Die [Bonus Tracks]

Born to Die [Bonus Tracks]

by Grand Funk RailroadGrand Funk Railroad

CD(Remastered / Bonus Tracks)

$13.66 $13.99 Save 2% Current price is $13.66, Original price is $13.99. You Save 2%.


The title says it all: although not steeped in heavy metal riffs or gothic sound effects, this 1976 effort from Grand Funk Railroad creates a mood gloomy enough to rival the darkest moments of Black Sabbath. By this point in its career, the band was feeling run into the ground and this is reflected in the mood of the lyrics: the title track is a mournful rumination on the inevitability of death and "I Feel for Your Love" explores the depression created by the end of a relationship. The result is an album that feels like an anomaly in the Grand Funk Railroad catalog: the album's dark mood sits at odds with the group's normally energetic style, and thus, robs it of a lot of its punch. Even though the production is solid and the group's instrumental performance is tight, neither of these elements makes it easy to listen to an album of oppressively dreary songs. However, a few bright spots shine through: "Sally" is a country-tinged, mid-tempo rocker that highlights Mark Farner's harmonica playing, and "Take Me" is a driving, lusty rocker that briefly adds a shot of much-needed energy to the proceedings. Of the gloomier tracks, "Love Is Dyin'" stands out because it applies a strong, guitar-heavy rock melody to its sad sentiments to create a song that is both driving and emotionally affecting. Ultimately, Born to Die is such a grim affair that it may turn off some of the group's fans, but it remains an interesting curio for the Grand Funk Railroad completist.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/25/2003
Label: Capitol
UPC: 0724358049824
catalogNumber: 80498


  1. Born to Die
  2. Dues
  3. Sally
  4. I Fell for Your Love
  5. Talk to the People
  6. Take Me
  7. Genevieve
  8. Love Is Dyin'
  9. Politician
  10. Good Things
  11. Bare Naked Woman
  12. Genevieve

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Grand Funk Railroad   Primary Artist
Mark Farner   Guitar,Vocals
Jimmy Hall   Harmonica,Saxophone
Don Brewer   Percussion,Drums,Vocals
Craig Frost   Keyboards,Background Vocals
Donna Hall   Background Vocals
Mel Schacher   Bass

Technical Credits

Lynn Goldsmith   Art Direction
Jimmy Ienner   Producer
Jack Sherdel   Engineer
Neil Kellerhouse   Art Direction
Bryan Kelley   Producer
Jean Paul Goude   Cover Painting
Shannon Ward   Producer
Steve Roeser   Liner Notes
David K. Tedds   Reissue Producer

Customer Reviews