Toward a Phenomenology of Sexual Difference: Husserl, Merleau-Ponty, Beauvoir

Toward a Phenomenology of Sexual Difference: Husserl, Merleau-Ponty, Beauvoir

by Sara Heinämaa

NOOK Book(eBook)

$43.50
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Overview

Simone de Beauvoir's Le Deuxi_me Sexe has been studied extensively since its appearance in 1949. Through the years, certain passages have taken on prestige; others are seen as unimportant to understanding Beauvoir's argument. In Toward a Phenomenology of Sexual Difference, Sara HeinSmaa rediscovers those neglected passages in her quest to follow Beauvoir's line of thinking. HeinSmaa, like some other recent philosophers, finds that Le Duexi_me Sexe is a philosophical inquiry, not the empirical study it is commonly thought to be. Others who view Beauvoir's masterpiece as a work of philosophy argue it is a criticism not only of Sartrean phenomenology, but of phenomenology as a whole. HeinSmaa thinks differently. She finds that Beauvoir's starting point is the Husserlian idea of the living body that she found developed in Merleau-Ponty's PhZnomZnologie de la perception. So when Beavoir wrote Le Duexi_me Sexe, she was writing not as Sartre's pupil, but as a scholar in the tradition of Husserl and Merleau-Ponty.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780585461908
Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield Publishers, Inc.
Publication date: 09/01/2004
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 184
File size: 1 MB
Age Range: 17 Years

About the Author

Sara HeinSmaa is senior research fellow in the Department of Philosophy, University of Helsinki, Finland.

Table of Contents


Chapter 1 The philosopher and the writer
Chapter 2 The living body
Chapter 3 Sexual and erotic bodies
Chapter 4 Questions about women
Chapter 5 A genealogy of subjection
Chapter 6 The mythology of femininity

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews