by Son Lux Son Lux


by Son Lux Son Lux




Ever adapting his creative process, composer/keyboardist/singer/producer Ryan Lott enlisted his Lanterns touring bandmembers, guitarist/composer Rafiq Bhatia and drummer Ian Chang, to co-write the fourth Son Lux album, the first recorded as a band. The recording and processing techniques Lott has continued to refine from previous albums, including digitally manipulating acoustic instrument recordings, are on full display on Bones, with exotic rhythms, startling anthems, and those organic-mechanical timbres forming a bold song set with an unshakably dystopian feel. Chang's herky-jerky, rhythmically tantalizing drumming style is a perfect complement to Lott's crackling, distraught-sounding singing voice, both evident on the relentlessly irregular "Flight," also with melodic eruptions of flute voicings, experimental noise guitar, and disquieting lyrics: "Are we now what we'll be?/Are we fixed or free?" "You Don't Know Me," described by Bhatia as expressing defiance of political and organizational oppression ("I feel you tracing my scars, but you don't know me"), is sultry, alarm-riddled art-dance-rock with an inspired, out-of-the-blue rhythm section break with Andrews Sisters-style guest chanteuses. The record is continually surprising, from the blown-out, crushing booms and anthemic chorus of "Change Is Everything" to the diverse drum-sound palette within "White Lies" to the dissonant guitar work on the more psychedelic-leaning "Undone," and those aren't all of the noteworthy events within just those songs. The album is also compellingly catchy and danceable throughout, though persistently grim in subject matter and tone; "I Am the Others," for instance, repeats "Am I the only one?," "Where are the others?," and "You are the most fortunate one" for a truly apocalyptic effect among clattering rim drumming, distorted low-end chords, and howling voices. Listeners who can withstand or embrace the heaviness will find an inspiring amount to appreciate. Bones is inventive, unsettling, imposing, and utterly arresting.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 06/23/2015
Label: Glassnote
UPC: 0810599020811
catalogNumber: 17402


  1. Breathe In
  2. Change Is Everything
  3. Flight
  4. You Don't Know Me
  5. This Time
  6. I Am the Others
  7. Your Day Will Come
  8. Undone
  9. White Lies
  10. Now I Want
  11. Breathe Out

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Son Lux   Primary Artist
Joy Askew   Vocals
Kristin Andreassen   Vocals
Cat Martino   Vocals
Rob Moose   Violin,Viola
Elizabeth Ziman   Vocals
Ryan Lott   Group Member
Sarah Pedinotti   Vocals
Alexandra Sopp   Flute
Jackson Hill   Electric Bass
Hanna Benn   Vocals
Ian Chang   Group Member
Kristin Slipp   Vocals
Rafiq Bhatia   Group Member
Elena Tonra   Vocals
Logan Cole   Upright Bass
Nina Moffitt   Vocals
Moses Sumney   Vocals
D.M. Stith   Vocals
Liz Nistico   Vocals
Jennifer Lott   Vocals

Technical Credits

Ephriam Nagler   Engineer
Son Lux   Composer,Producer
Ryan Lott   Engineer
Chris Tabron   Engineer
Louie Diller   Engineer
Nathan Johnson   Art Direction
Tomek Miernowski   Engineer
Marke Johnson   Art Direction
Hanna Benn   Vocal Arrangements
Ian Chang   Engineer
Alexander Overington   Engineer
Igor Haefeli   Engineer
Rafiq Bhatia   Engineer
Todd Carder   Engineer
Liz Nistico   Vocal Arrangements

Customer Reviews