Bone in the Throat

Bone in the Throat

by Anthony Bourdain

Paperback

$16.00 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, October 24

Overview

The acclaimed first novel by the New York Times bestselling author of Kitchen Confidential and host of Parts Unknown on CNN. A wildly funny, irreverent tale of murder, mayhem, and the mob.

When up-and-coming chef Tommy Pagana settles for a less than glamorous stint at his uncle's restaurant in Manhattan's Little Italy, he unwittingly finds himself a partner in big-time crime. And when the mob decides to use the kitchen for a murder, nothing Tommy learned in cooking school has prepared him for what happens next.

With the FBI on one side, and his eccentric wise-guy superiors on the other, Tommy has to struggle to do right by his conscience, and to avoid getting killed in the meantime.

In the vein of Prizzi's Honor, Bone in the Throat is a thrilling Mafia caper laced with entertaining characters and wry humor. This first novel is a must-have for fans of Anthony Bourdain's nonfiction.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781582341026
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA
Publication date: 09/18/2000
Pages: 304
Sales rank: 135,837
Product dimensions: 5.63(w) x 8.14(h) x 0.84(d)

About the Author

Chef and author Anthony Bourdain wrote the New York Times bestselling memoirs Kitchen Confidential, Medium Raw, and A Cook’s Tour; the collection The Nasty Bits; the novels Bone in the Throat, The Bobby Gold Stories, andGone Bamboo; the biography Typhoid Mary; and the cookbooks Appetites and Les Halles Cookbook.

Bourdain was the host of the Emmy and Peabody Award–winning docuseries Anthony Bourdain: Parts Unknown on CNN, and prior to that hosted the Emmy Award–winning No Reservations and The Layover on the Travel Channel and The Taste on ABC.

Hometown:

New York, New York

Date of Birth:

June 25, 1956

Date of Death:

June 8, 2018

Place of Birth:

New York, New York

Place of Death:

Kaysersberg-Vignoble, Haut-Rhin, France

Education:

High school diploma, Dwight Englewood School, 1973; A.O.S. degree, The Culinary Institute of America, 1978

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Bone in the Throat 3.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 21 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
My wife bought this book for me as a Christmas gift. We are big fans of Tony. Since I grew up in the NY area, I could really identify with how his characters talked and behaved. Tony uses a lot of NY and Mafia slang, such as 'the vig' (meaning 'the vigorish', which is what you owe a loan shark). His descriptions of what goes on inside a NY restaurant kitchen are dead on. Fans of the 'The Sopranos' will enjoy this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is sort of a mystery. Once you get the characters straightened out, it's good. The chapters are short and the story gets better at the end.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a fast and easy read, though quite graphically gruesome in some areas. I have to admit to skipping whole paragraphs and sometimes an entire page because I couldn't handle the graphic violence, but that's just me. I was hooked none-the-less, and read it in a weekend. A surprising, kind of fairytale ending. It was like eating a very spicy entree, and finishing with a smooth, sweet and creamy dessert. Satisfying.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was Bourdain's first book and while I don't think it catapulted him to fame over night it was a fun read then when I bought the first edition in hardcover and still is now all these years later. I particularly enjoyed the interaction of the protaganist and his French mother. J.R. Locke Author, Possible Twenty, a Gangster Tale & Down and Out in Manhattan
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Thought it was so-so until the last half of the book. Really liked the last half. Helps to be a foodie!!!
pbandy on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A good read for a couple of days at the beach, coincidentally this is where I read it. Bourdain's wit shines through in two characters which seem to be Bourdain's own personality split in two: Tommy and his heroin addict friend. There is little mystery to the plot, however it is an enjoyable read if taken for what it is: a fun crime novel that takes place in Bourdain's home, the kitchen of a NYC restaurant. The hilarious interactions and sexual escapades of the crew of the struggling restaurant are enough to make this book well worth the read. This is no hard-boiled chef's novel or an existential examination of the interactions of a chef and the mob, it's a fun and sarcastic adventure laced with a few capped knees and removed digits.
bookczuk on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
One of the books I purchased from The RAvenous Readers in the last days it was open. Love Bourdain's TV show and liked a memoir he wrote after this. Pat, from RR, said she enjoyed his foray into mystery, so I thought I'd give it a try. It was fine, not great, but fine. I have another and will be curious to see how his writing improves. (His language is pretty f--- heavy, but hey, he was writing about chefs and about gangsters. He's excused.
laytonwoman3rd on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Gruesome, gristly, profane, provocative, and awfully funny. Bourdain has a talent for dialog, for setting the scene and for making the macabre comical. This crime novel is not for the squeamish, and beyond the butchery one expects from mob hits, it includes some kitchen shenanigans that will make you want to eat in for a while. I understand this was written (or at least published) before Bourdain's non-fiction Kitchen Confidential, but it describes many of the same behind-the-scenes restaurant practices with a potful of mayhem thrown in for good measure.
MissTeacher on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Though this is Bourdain's first novel, it is the second one I have read (after The Bobby Gold Stories). The beginning felt awfully formulaic, with a thug roughing someone up because they owed the boss money. This book is also centered around a restaurant, but delves much deeper in to dealings with the mafia and the workings of a kitchen. The characterization in this book is thorough, and the dialogue is witty, realistic, and quick. Bone in the Throat shakes the reader up more, and is suspenseful to almost the very end instead of falling flat and just kind of trailing. It is difficult to review this book without comparing it to Bobby Gold because they are so similar, but all in all, it's a better read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago