Bon: The Last Highway: The Untold Story of Bon Scott and AC/DC's Back in Black

Bon: The Last Highway: The Untold Story of Bon Scott and AC/DC's Back in Black

Audio MP3 on CD(MP3 on CD - Unabridged)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Bon: The Last Highway is the original, forensic, unflinching, and masterful biography Bon Scott has so richly deserved and music fans around the world have been waiting for.

The death of Bon Scott is The Da Vinci Code of rock. In the early hours of 19 February 1980, Bon Scott, lead singer of the rock band AC/DC, left The Music Machine in Camden, London, with a man called Alistair Kinnear, whereupon he lost consciousness and was left to sleep in Alistair’s Renault 5, parked outside Alistair’s East Dulwich apartment. That evening, Bon’s lifeless body was found, still in the car. He was pronounced dead on arrival at King’s College Hospital.

Less than two months later, far away in the Caribbean, recording began on Back In Black, AC/DC’s tribute to their fallen bandmate. Worldwide, it would go on to become the biggest selling rock album of all time.

The legend of the man known around the world simply as “Bon” only grows with each passing year—in death the AC/DC icon has become a god to millions of people—but how much of his story is myth or pure fabrication, and how much of the real man do we know? There have been books that claim to tell his story. They haven’t even come close.

Jesse Fink, author of the critically acclaimed international bestseller The Youngs: The Brothers Who Built AC/DC, leaves no stone unturned for Bon: The Last Highway, a book years in the making that finally solves the riddle of the death of Bon Scott. The 1977–80 period forged the legend of AC/DC. There wasn’t a harder working band in the music business. But, as Fink startlingly reveals, the relentless AC/DC machine was also threatening to come apart. Fink has answers to the nagging questions rock ’n’ roll fans have been asking since 1980 and reveals secrets that will change music history.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781489423603
Publisher: Bolinda Audio
Publication date: 12/05/2017
Edition description: Unabridged
Product dimensions: 5.25(w) x 6.75(h) x 0.50(d)

About the Author

Jesse Fink was born in London in 1973. He is the author of The Youngs: The Brothers Who Built AC/DC, which was released in more than 20 countries. Bon: The Last Highway is his fourth book. He divides his time between Sydney, Australia, and São Paulo, Brazil, with his wife and daughter.

Table of Contents

OPENER: Shot Down in Flames


1 | Go Down

2 | Bad Boy Boogie

3 | Whole Lotta Rosie

4 | Problem Child

5 | Dog Eat Dog

6 | Overdose

7 | Hell Ain’t a Bad Place to Be


8 | What’s Next to the Moon

9 | Kicked In the Teeth

10 | Rock ’n’ Roll Damnation

11 | Gimme a Bullet

12 | Up to My Neck in You

13 | Riff Raff

14 | Down Payment Blues

15 | Sin City

16 | Cold Hearted Man


17 | Walk All Over You

18 | Night Prowler

19 | Touch Too Much

20 | Love Hungry Man

21 | If You Want Blood

(You’ve Got It)

22 | Girls Got Rhythm

23 | Highway to Hell


24 | Shoot to Thrill

25 | Hells Bells

26 | Shake a Leg

27 | Let Me Put My Love into You

28 | Given the Dog a Bone

29 | Have a Drink on Me

30 | Back in Black

31 | What Do You Do

for Money Honey

32 | Rock and Roll Ain’t

Noise Pollution

PART FIVE aftermath

33 | Rocker

34 | Ain’t No Fun (Waiting

’Round to Be a Millionaire)

35 | High Voltage

36 | It’s a Long Way to the Top

(If You Wanna Rock ’n’ Roll)

37 | Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap

38 | Rock ’n’ Roll Singer

39 | You Shook Me All Night Long

40 | Live Wire

41 | Let There Be Rock


Epilogue | Carry Me Home

Dramatis Personae | Dirty Eyes

Acknowledgements | Crabsody in Blue

Bibliography | Beating Around the Bush

Appendix | Gone Shootin’

Index | Get It Hot

Customer Reviews