Blurred Lines [Deluxe Edition]

Blurred Lines [Deluxe Edition]

by Robin ThickeRobin Thicke


$19.30 $19.99 Save 3% Current price is $19.3, Original price is $19.99. You Save 3%.


When Marvin Gaye was pressured to make a commercial dance record, the singer responded with "Got to Give It Up," which went to the top of the Hot 100. Thirty-five years later, Robin Thicke -- he of the perpetual Marvin fixation -- offhandedly recorded "Blurred Lines," musically based on that 1977 hit, with producer Pharrell. Thicke wasn't gunning for number one, but a deliberately sexist video further polarized opinions and pushed the song to that spot -- a very rare achievement for a 2013 single within the marginalized genre of R&B. Ironically, the album of the same title also contains a motley assortment of high-gloss dance tracks seemingly made for pop-chart contention. "Take It Easy on Me" (produced by Timbaland and J-Roc), "Give It 2 U" (Dr. Luke and Cirkut), "Feel Good" (, and the deluxe edition bonus cut "Pressure" (the Cataracs) are nothing like the title track's undeniable disco-funk groove, and not one of them is among Thicke's best. They do, however, lack desperation and help convey the album's prevailing casual, lighthearted feel. Several other songs are more rooted in soul but are just as spirited, if not as moving as 2008's "Magic." Best of all is career highlight "Ooo La La," slick and perfectly crafted -- a 1979/1980 smooth soul throwback featuring some of Thicke's finest melodies and falsetto lines. Tucked near the end, after all the revelry, is "4 the Rest of My Life." A great soul ballad filled with personal flashbacks, like the time young Robin serenaded then-future wife Paula Patton with a Jodeci song, it's nonetheless relatable enough to be played at as many wedding receptions as "Blurred Lines." It adds a little something for longtime fans who might not be all that receptive to the glitzy synthesizers and pounding bass drums. [A Deluxe Edition added four bonus tracks.]

Product Details

Release Date: 07/30/2013
Label: Interscope Records
UPC: 0602537435739
catalogNumber: 001868102

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Robin Thicke   Primary Artist,Keyboards,Vocals,Background Vocals
Donald Hayes   Alto Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Bobby Keyes   Guitar
Brandon Phillips   Trumpet
Pro-Jay   Bass,Guitar,Percussion,Drums
Rashawn Ross   Trumpet
Lemar Guillary   Trombone
Joe Augello   Bass,Guitar
Kendrick Lamar   Vocals

Technical Credits

André Harrell   Executive Producer
Jimmy Iovine   Executive Producer
Bill Malina   Engineer
Sylvia Robinson   Composer
Jerome "J-Roc" Harmon   Composer,Producer
Melvin Glover   Composer
Timbaland   Producer
Chris Godbey   Composer,Engineer
Pharrell Williams   Composer,Producer,Instrumentation
Pro-Jay   Composer,Producer,Engineer,String Arrangements
Alan Thicke   Composer
Tim Mosley   Composer   Composer,Producer,Vocal Producer
Denis Caribaux   Vocal Engineer
Jacob Luttrell   Composer
Andrew Coleman   Arranger,Engineer
Luke   Programming,Producer,Instrumentation
John Hanes   Engineer
Robin Thicke   Composer,Producer,String Arrangements
Timothy "Attitude" Clayton   Composer
Paula Patton   Composer
Jordan Feldstein   Executive Producer
Edward Fletcher   Composer
Cataracs   Producer
Gelly Kusuma   Engineer
Demacio "Demo" Castellon   Engineer
Clifford Harris   Composer
Joe Augello   Composer
Clifton Nathaniel Chase   Composer
Clint Gibbs   Engineer
Niles Hollowell-Dhar   Composer,Instrumentation
Lukasz Gottwald   Composer
Derek "MixedByAli" Ali   Engineer,Vocal Engineer
Jorge Mario Da Silva   Composer,Sample Source
Kendrick Duckworth   Composer
Cirkut   Producer
William Adams   Composer
Young & Sick   Art Direction,Packaging
Suzie Katyama   String Arrangements,String Conductor
Henry Walter   Composer

Customer Reviews